Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
104 0
Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
October 06, 2020
ISBN
978-1680104622
Buy This Book
      
In this new chapter book series, Little Animal Rescue, what starts out as a field trip to the zoo for Callie and her classmates ends up becoming the adventure of a lifetime when Callie is magically whisked away to the Serengeti where she finds a little lost lion cub. Includes black and white illustrations throughout.

While on a field trip to the zoo with her classmates, Callie is magically transported to the Serengeti where she finds a lost little lion cub. Callie is determined to reunite it with its family. Although the plains of the Serengeti are beautiful, they can also be dangerous--for both the cub and Callie. Is she ready to face the wild and help the cub find its pride?

In the Little Animal Rescue series, join Callie on her magical adventures to rescue wild animals in danger all around the world!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Magical Adventure to the Serengeti
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Callie's class is on a trip to the zoo. Since Callie wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up, she doesn't mind mucking out the elephant stalls with her classmates, but she really wants to see the lions, who are sleeping. When they wake up, Callie goes to see them, but a postcard magically transports her to Africa! At the Serengeti National Park in Tanzania, Callie finds a lost lion cub whom she names Tanzy. Since the cub is very young, the two try to find its mother. Callie takes good care of the cub, feeding her her sandwich and trying to find water. The two escape a stampede of wildebeests while trying to follow water birds to a river, and find themselves in a herd of zebras! After narrowly escaping cheetahs as well as brown ants, Callie manages to get Tanzy back to her family, and returns to her class, ready for her next magical adventure.
Good Points
This new series will be great for fans of animal books that talk about animal care and include children who want to be veterinarians, such as Peters and Snowden's The Jasmine Green series. I can also see this being popular with the readers of Jane Clarke's illustrated Dr. Kitty Cat, and the magical twist is similar to the Daisy Meadows Magic Animal Friends books.

I loved that Callie was very brave and is more concerned about Tanzy than she is about herself. She uses her knowledge of the wildlife and animals to help her move forward. She keeps Tanzy fed and safe, and understands how important it is for the cub to get back to her mother. Yes, she cuddles the lion, which seems like a bad idea to me personally, but given how cute the picture on the cover is, how could she not? It seems unlikely that this book would encourage young readers to go out to find lion cubs to cuddle, so it's good to see her caring for the the cub so diligently.

Line drawings of the Serengeti landscape and the flora and fauna there add an extra layer of immediacy to a fun animal story with a component of magical adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."