Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
162 0
Little Lion Rescue (Little Animal Rescue)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
October 06, 2020
ISBN
978-1680104622
Buy This Book
      
In this new chapter book series, Little Animal Rescue, what starts out as a field trip to the zoo for Callie and her classmates ends up becoming the adventure of a lifetime when Callie is magically whisked away to the Serengeti where she finds a little lost lion cub. Includes black and white illustrations throughout.

While on a field trip to the zoo with her classmates, Callie is magically transported to the Serengeti where she finds a lost little lion cub. Callie is determined to reunite it with its family. Although the plains of the Serengeti are beautiful, they can also be dangerous--for both the cub and Callie. Is she ready to face the wild and help the cub find its pride?

In the Little Animal Rescue series, join Callie on her magical adventures to rescue wild animals in danger all around the world!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Magical Adventure to the Serengeti
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Callie's class is on a trip to the zoo. Since Callie wants to be a veterinarian when she grows up, she doesn't mind mucking out the elephant stalls with her classmates, but she really wants to see the lions, who are sleeping. When they wake up, Callie goes to see them, but a postcard magically transports her to Africa! At the Serengeti National Park in Tanzania, Callie finds a lost lion cub whom she names Tanzy. Since the cub is very young, the two try to find its mother. Callie takes good care of the cub, feeding her her sandwich and trying to find water. The two escape a stampede of wildebeests while trying to follow water birds to a river, and find themselves in a herd of zebras! After narrowly escaping cheetahs as well as brown ants, Callie manages to get Tanzy back to her family, and returns to her class, ready for her next magical adventure.
Good Points
This new series will be great for fans of animal books that talk about animal care and include children who want to be veterinarians, such as Peters and Snowden's The Jasmine Green series. I can also see this being popular with the readers of Jane Clarke's illustrated Dr. Kitty Cat, and the magical twist is similar to the Daisy Meadows Magic Animal Friends books.

I loved that Callie was very brave and is more concerned about Tanzy than she is about herself. She uses her knowledge of the wildlife and animals to help her move forward. She keeps Tanzy fed and safe, and understands how important it is for the cub to get back to her mother. Yes, she cuddles the lion, which seems like a bad idea to me personally, but given how cute the picture on the cover is, how could she not? It seems unlikely that this book would encourage young readers to go out to find lion cubs to cuddle, so it's good to see her caring for the the cub so diligently.

Line drawings of the Serengeti landscape and the flora and fauna there add an extra layer of immediacy to a fun animal story with a component of magical adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."