Disaster Days

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
134 0
Disaster Days
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 01, 2019
ISBN
978-1492673316
Buy This Book
      
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near Seattle. It's a little disconnected from the outside world, but she's always felt completely safe there.

Which is why when she's asked one day to babysit after school, she thinks it's no big deal. Zoe and Oscar are her next-door neighbors, and Hannah just took a babysitting class that she's pretty sure makes her an expert. She isn't even worried that she left her inhaler at home.

Then the shaking begins.

The terrifying earthquake only lasts four minutes but it changes everything, damaging the house, knocking out the power, and making cell service nonexistent. Even worse, the ferry and the bridge connecting the kids to help―and their parents―are both blocked. Which means they're stranded and alone... With Hannah in charge, as things go from bad to dangerous.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

WHY they have babysitter training courses!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her asthma. She lives on Pelling, a small island outside of Seattle, and is glad that she has a chance to babysit for one of the few neighboring families. Usually, it's just for a short time while Ms. Matlock runs to the store, but when there is a gallery show, she gets to watch Oscar and Zoe for a little longer. Her mother will be home a little later in case she runs into problems, so she's looking forward to a little independence. She is also glad to have something to take her mind off her fight with her best friend, Neha. Ever since Hannah quit soccer because of her asthma, the two have grown apart, and when Neha doesn't want to work with Hannah on a project, the two have a text scuffle. All of those things become unimportant, however, when there is an earthquake! All three children (Zoe is just a couple of years younger than Hannah; 4th graders are pretty helpful) are worried, but they manage to ride out the quake, assess the damage, and think through what they need to do. When Hannah's cell phone stops working and Ms. Matlock does not come home, she tells the children that she is on her way to make sure they don't panic. Zoe is not happy the next day, but things slowly go from bad to worse. There are aftershocks and other small quakes that damage the house further and cause the refrigerator to topple. Hannah smells gas and knows that they have to leave the house, so they stay on the porch and then set up a tent when even that seems dangerous. They have a wind up radio and listen to the local news, but none of it is good. Hannah worries that her father, an architect working on a project on the coast, might have been killed, and she knows it will be some time before anyone gets back to the island. When food is low and the children's injuries become worse (Zoe gets glass in her arm and Oscar breaks his leg), Hannah decides they should make their way to her house, 3/4 of a mile away, and closer to the ferry. When her house is in even worse shape and circumstances seem dire, the three set out for the ferry. Will they be able to get help in time?
Good Points
Children saving the day alone without killing off any parents! Hooray! I loved that Hannah was irritated with her mother for hovering, but soon understood what it is like to be responsible for others. Having her be in 7th grade and having taken a babysitting course, and having her charges be in 4th and 2nd grade is perfect-- I babysat children that age from 5 p.m. to 2 p.m. for a neighbor in the summer, and certainly felt like I could have dealt with an earthquake! Yes, it's horrible, but it's also sort of exciting. I'm not normally a fan of flashbacks, but the first chapter of this was so suspenseful. The children consulting an encyclopedia for information and remembering some of their lessons on what gas smells like, etc. was brilliant. Really, really enjoyed this!

I loved this one, and was glad to see a new survival tale. Readers who enjoy Will Hobbs, Gary Paulsen, and this author's Alone in the Woods will find this a harrowing read, but also an instructional one. I really need toput together a Go Bag to have in my closet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."
Prepped
 
5.0
"PREPPED is a really captivating YA contemporary fiction. Becca is 17 years old and dreams of going away to college..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
5.0
"This book has become one of my all-time favorites. Every time I start reading I couldn’t put it down, touched..."
Curse of the Divine (Ink in the Blood, #2)
 
4.7
"CURSE OF THE DIVINE is a dark, atmospheric, and compelling finale to a unique YA fantasy duology. In the first..."
Who Put This Song On?
 
4.7
"In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't..."