Dragon Mountain

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
436 0
Dragon Mountain
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 17, 2020
ISBN
978-1454935964
Buy This Book
      
When 12-year-old Billy Chan finds out his parents are sending him to a language and culture camp in the middle-of-nowhere China, he can’t imagine anything worse. He’s not expecting to become friends with fellow campers Dylan O’Donnell, Charlotte Bell, and Liu Ling-Fei. And he’s definitely not planning to meet any dragons. But when the four kids accidentally open a crack in an ancient mountain, they become involved in an ages-old struggle of good versus evil. Now it’s up to them to save the Dragon Realm—if they don’t, the world as they know it might disappear forever.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Portal to the Dragon Realm
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Billy Chan has gotten an invitation to attend Camp Dragon, a cultural and language school in China, so his parents ruin his summer of surfing in California so he can get in touch with the Chinese half of his heritage. Once there, he meets an assembly of children from around the globe and "Old Gold", the man who runs the camp. There are lessons and activities, but also a series of competitions. The children are divided into groups of four, and Billy gets put in with Charlotte, a blonde, girl from the US South who is very competitive, Dylan, who hails from Ireland, and Ling-Fei, who is from the area and well acquainted with Old Gold and his grandson, JJ. When the four fail to complete their first scavenger hunt because they are attacked by a tiger who disappears and then get caught in an earthquake, they find that when they return to camp, no one believes them! Ling-Fei realizes that during their adventure she has lost a necklace her grandmother gave her, and the group goes back to retrieve the family heirloom. They find that the earthquake seems to have split the mountain, but the reality is even more serious-- they have opened the portal between the Human Realm and the Dragon Realm! Moreover, they find four dragons who claim that they must bond with the four humans in order to gain more power to defeat the Dragon of Death and the Noxious. Clothed in suits made of dragon cloth and able to ride on their dragons Tank, Buttons, Xing and Sparks, our heroes set off to save both realms. They face all manner of challenges, and find after some triumphs that they have a nemesis all too close to home. This is the first book in a purported three books series.
Good Points
I have a LOT of conversations with students about why dragons are awesome and what they are looking for in books about dragons. It's always worth having a solid collection of dragon books in middle school libraries, but especially important now that Tui Sutherland's Wings of Fire series has creative a large fan base. Dragon Mountain is tailor made for young readers who secretly want their own dragon. First of all, this begins at a school. There's a whole sub genre of fantasy books with "academies" that my students like. I love that this one is set in China (they have the best dragons!), and that the cast is multicultural. This is well paced, and moves us right along. The bonds with the personalized dragons will delight dragon fans, and cause a fair number of playground reenactments among younger reads; middle schoolers stick to fan art, and I'm sure I'll get some. It's rare that as I read through a book I think "Yep. Kids will like that. And that. And that." I wonder if the authors talked to actual young readers! Great stuff. Also, the twist at the end was fantastic..

This will be popular with readers who enjoyed Durst's Spark, Zhao's Dragon Warrior Series, Oh's The Dragon Egg Princess, Mancusi's Dragon Ops, and Halbrook's Silver Batal and the Water Dragon Races .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The King's Daughter: A Girl Lost In Time
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summary: Wales 1294 A country...
Fiver Finds Home
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the world’s first blue dwarf giraffe! With five purple...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
Parachutes
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"I’d really like to advice all out there feeling depressed and broken hearted from relationship stress, there’s hope for dr..."
Rent a Boyfriend
 
5.0
"I'm not even sure where to begin with this review, to be honest, because I loved this book so much...."
Reclaimed
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
New Moon (Twilight #2)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY EX HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF REAL AND EFFECTIVE SPELL BY doctor0lovespell@gmail.com My name..."
Parachutes
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."