Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
225 0
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
Author(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1682632017
Buy This Book
      
A hilarious bedtime romp tackles the thrills and anxieties of sleeping over

Duck and Penguin do not like sleepovers, despite what their owners, Betty and Maud, might have you think. They do not like snuggly sleeping bags, they do not like super-soft pillows, and they ESPECIALLY do NOT like being extra cozy together in a teeny weeny tiny tent! But when Betty and Maud abandon Duck and Penguin outside, Duck and Penguin have no choice but to stick together. The dark outside is full of strange noises, after all, and they have the oddest feeling that...something...is watching them.

This companion to Duck & Penguin are NOT Friends is a laugh-out-loud tale about the secret world of toys from author-illustrator Julia Woolf. With a relatable topic and hilarious illustrations it’s sure to have children begging for multiple reads.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

overall cute book about sleepovers and the things we do for our friends
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs - but they do not like each other. Betty and Maud are thrilled to be having a sleepover in a teeny-weeny tiny tent in their backyard. Duck and Penguin would rather not. When they all get settled down, they drink some fizzy pop which leads to Betty and Maud running back to the house and leaving Duck and Penguin behind. Duck and Penguin decide to go back to the house too, but then there are all sorts of sounds in the night.

What I loved: The illustrations really tell the story here, and I loved all the detail. Particularly the scenes at night are great, as the reader can see things Duck and Penguin cannot, such as the bugs, owls, and other nighttime creatures. The book manages to be not at all scary for the readers even though Duck and Penguin do get a bit scared. They do not say anything during the book, with only Betty and Maud cheerily chiming in throughout. This is an interested juxtaposition with what we see in the illustrations (their excitement vs. Duck and Penguin's unhappiness). I do really like that Duck and Penguin end up working together at the end a bit and there's some great humor throughout.

What left me wanting more: I appreciate some grumpy characters and am even OK with verbal conflict (when it can teach about conflict resolution). The part that I found a little troubling was the physical confrontations between Duck and Penguin, where one is shoving the other or pushing a pillow over the other. This is not spoken in the text and only appears in the illustrations, so this could go over little one's heads, but I would have appreciated more grumpy faces vs. pushing. This was probably due to Duck and Penguin being nonverbal and wanting to show the conflict, but this conflict is shown and the resolution is not full (no apologies because they don't talk, but we do see them working together).

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute picture book about friends and not friends that is told primarily through the illustrations. Bright colors and fun details make this a fun book to look at and tell a fun story about a sleepover between two young girls and their stuffed animals.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."