My Words

Featured
My Words
Author(s)
Age Range
2+
Release Date
October 27, 2020
ISBN
978-0062907806
Buy This Book
      
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly, big, and bright!"

In this delightful romp through one little girl's discovery of words, readers meet Ava—who asks: What was it like before I had words?

Using a bright cheery palette, visual humor (and yes, even a big pile of words climbed by Ava), Grant Snider deftly follows the baby babbles, toddler questions, and little kid discoveries that are the hallmarks of how kids learn to "use their words."

An adventurous spirit and a cheerful disposition make Ava feel like a friend children will want to spend time with. Her curiosity is nurtured by family, friends, and the world she discovers around her.

For fans of books like Dear Girl, and I Am Peace, My Words will appeal to curious children who want to know more about how they grew from babies, as well as children who are excited by language. Perfect for reading together at home or for the pre-K or K classroom, My Words is a book that will make readers want to talk about the things they say and excite them about the giant world of words.

Editor review

1 review
picture book about language
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
3.0
MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words can be big, prickly, and more before taking a journey back to infancy, where she had no words. We then follow her journey to learning new words and so many more. The illustrations are simple but with plenty of colors and fun word art.

What I loved: This book conveys a love of words and the power of learning and expressing language. The illustrations are colorful on white background, and the word art is really fun. The amount of text on each page is relatively short, making the pages turn quickly. This would be great for young readers, either those learning to read or toddlers/preschoolers who will appreciate the simplicity and brevity.

What left me wanting more: This book is fairly simple and will have a somewhat limited audience in terms of age and visual appeal. However, it could be a good tool for teaching about language and the way that we learn as infants/toddlers to begin to speak.

Final verdict: Overall, MY WORDS is a simple book about the importance of language and the way that we grow into it. This picture book will appeal to readers who enjoy brief stories and simple illustrations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account