Fresh Princess: Style Rules!

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
336 0
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 31, 2020
ISBN
978-0062884589
Buy This Book
      
Join Destiny the Fresh Princess in her second adventure! Based on The Fresh Prince created by Will Smith.

Now that Destiny settled in to her new neighborhood, she is on her way to the next big thing: a new school!

Destiny loves everything about school, but when she shows up to Paul Robeson Prep, it’s bigger than she ever imagined, the uniforms are plain, and all her friends already have a “thing.” Destiny suddenly doesn’t feel so fresh and wonders how she’ll ever stand out. That’s when she notices something super cool about her uniform jacket…

Will Destiny find a way to make her mark?

Written by celebrated author, blogger, and editor Denene Millner and illustrated by Gladys Jose, Fresh Princess: Style Rules! is the perfect book to encourage kids to be creative, be smart, and most importantly, be themselves!

Perfect for fans of Juno Valentine created by Eva Chen and Fancy Nancy created by Jane O'Connor.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

delightful story about making your mark at a new school
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and she wants to find a way to stand out. She loves everything about school, except her uniform, which is pretty unstylish. She does love the lining of the jacket she wears, and when she accidentally puts it on inside-out, she loves it, but she is worried about breaking the rules. When she talks to her sister that night, she realizes that she didn't break any rules. The next day she goes to school wearing her jacket inside-out, and this may be the way she can make her mark.

What I loved: This is an overall adorable story, and I love the emphasis on Destiny also being smart and enjoying learning at school in addition to wanting to look great doing it all. It's also great to have Black main characters and a dad who cooks a great breakfast on her first day. These types of representation are really important and great to see. The writing is great for preschool through elementary school-aged readers with a good amount of text to brightly colored illustrations. Destiny's story will charm young readers throughout.

Final verdict: Charming and full of bright colors, FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a delightful read about finding your way to make a mark and let your personality shine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
"THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a dark YA horror that creeps up on you. The book follows two teens, Eliot..."
Poison Ivy: Thorns
 
4.3
"Let me start with the artwork. This was so beautifully done and I loved every single panel. It really pulled..."
Lies My Memory Told Me
 
4.7
"What I Loved: In Lies my Memory Told Me, Nova is the daughter of the people who created Enhanced Memory...."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva and her friend Brigit leave behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."