Fresh Princess: Style Rules!

Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 31, 2020
ISBN
978-0062884589
Buy This Book
      
Join Destiny the Fresh Princess in her second adventure! Based on The Fresh Prince created by Will Smith.

Now that Destiny settled in to her new neighborhood, she is on her way to the next big thing: a new school!

Destiny loves everything about school, but when she shows up to Paul Robeson Prep, it’s bigger than she ever imagined, the uniforms are plain, and all her friends already have a “thing.” Destiny suddenly doesn’t feel so fresh and wonders how she’ll ever stand out. That’s when she notices something super cool about her uniform jacket…

Will Destiny find a way to make her mark?

Written by celebrated author, blogger, and editor Denene Millner and illustrated by Gladys Jose, Fresh Princess: Style Rules! is the perfect book to encourage kids to be creative, be smart, and most importantly, be themselves!

Perfect for fans of Juno Valentine created by Eva Chen and Fancy Nancy created by Jane O'Connor.

Editor review

1 review
delightful story about making your mark at a new school
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and she wants to find a way to stand out. She loves everything about school, except her uniform, which is pretty unstylish. She does love the lining of the jacket she wears, and when she accidentally puts it on inside-out, she loves it, but she is worried about breaking the rules. When she talks to her sister that night, she realizes that she didn't break any rules. The next day she goes to school wearing her jacket inside-out, and this may be the way she can make her mark.

What I loved: This is an overall adorable story, and I love the emphasis on Destiny also being smart and enjoying learning at school in addition to wanting to look great doing it all. It's also great to have Black main characters and a dad who cooks a great breakfast on her first day. These types of representation are really important and great to see. The writing is great for preschool through elementary school-aged readers with a good amount of text to brightly colored illustrations. Destiny's story will charm young readers throughout.

Final verdict: Charming and full of bright colors, FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a delightful read about finding your way to make a mark and let your personality shine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account