Elsie

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
195 0
Elsie
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 11, 2020
ISBN
978-1419740725
Buy This Book
      
A gentle introduction to diversity and acceptance

On nice and sunny Sundays, Elsie goes fishing with her six siblings. But she doesn’t quite fit in. They want to walk through the woods, but she wants to walk along the water. They like to cast their fishing rods directly into the water, but she prefers to use buttercups as bait. They eat their sandwiches, while Elsie feeds them to the ducks. But by the end of the day, Elsie’s siblings realize that though they may see the world differently, they can learn from their unique perspectives and love one another all the same. This sweet sibling story gently introduces young readers to important themes like diversity and acceptance and encourages us all to widen our worldviews and open our hearts.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

adorable picture book about being different
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
ELSIE is a cute story about a bunny who does not always think like her siblings. Elsie is the youngest of seven rabbits. The rabbits go fishing on Sundays when the weather is nice, and though Elsie would rather read her book, her brothers and sisters make her come. Elsie seems to do everything a little differently, but it ultimately ends up being her methods that catch the fish. Her brothers and sisters start to see Elsie's way of doing things as something to consider.

What I loved: The illustrations here are really detailed and full of interesting things to look at. Elsie is a whimsical and cute character whose personality comes through the story well. The book has an interesting rhythm to the text, with each of the siblings saying something before Elsie, and then all responding in chorus to her. The book is really easy to read with large and clear font printed in black on white at the edge of each page. There is also some encouragement to celebrate a different way of doing things, because it may achieve great results.

What left me wanting more: Each page is pretty lengthy in terms of writing, and it's somewhat tough to have seven main characters who speak on every page in terms of identifying them and following along easily. However, with each reread, this does become easier.

Final verdict: Overall, ELSIE is a lovely picture book that celebrates the unique way each person tackles life. With lush and detailed illustrations and an adorable main character, this is a great read for the preschool and young elementary school-aged audience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."