Bonaparte Plays Ball

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
143 0
Bonaparte Plays Ball
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 10, 2020
ISBN
978-1984830470
Buy This Book
      
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they compete in the Weird Series--a monster version of the World Series--in this picture book perfect for fans of baseball and silly monsters alike!

It's the Weird Series and Bonaparte's team, the Little Monsters, are gearing up to play against the Mighty Aliens for the championship title.

The competition is fierce and Bonaparte, of course, is a jumble of bones. What if he loses his backbone while at bat? What if the Mighty Aliens make fun of him?

With bullies on the other team and the bases loaded, will Bonaparte be able to hold himself together and hit a home run without losing his head?

Fans of Bonaparte Falls Apart will delight in seeing this cast of monstrous friends band together to overcome their nerves and remain good sports as they play the game of their lives!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

fun new adventure for Bonaparte
(Updated: July 15, 2020)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
BONAPARTE PLAYS BALL matches up the Monsters and Aliens at the Weird Series baseball game. Bonaparte and his team practice hard leading up to the big game, but it's no walk in the park. The book details each inning as the Monsters strive to beat the Aliens among poor sportsmanship and taunting. With a can-do attitude and teamwork, Bonaparte keeps his heads in the game.

What I loved: The illustrations here are absolutely fantastic with memorable monsters and aliens all throughout the book. They also have a lot of detail with the crowds and settings that give children a lot to look at on each page. There are some great principles in the story about the importance of practice, working together, and never giving up- even when it seems impossible. The characters are really fantastic, and all the monster puns add some extra fun to the plot.

What left me wanting more: Even as someone who played softball (albeit a very long time ago), it was hard to understand some of the terminology in the book and this may make it harder for some readers to get into it. The recounting of the game is extremely detailed and may be too long for a younger audience. There are also instances of poor sportsmanship, such as the aliens causing one of the Monsters to pass out, and taunting/name calling that are not really addressed, and it would have been nice to get some clear lessons about these.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a memorable and fun baseball game that will engage young children with cute puns and delightful characters. Bonaparte leads the way to victory in this cute picture book about persistence and diligence.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."