The Girl and the Ghost

Featured
The Girl and the Ghost
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 04, 2020
ISBN
9780062940957
A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

Editor review

1 review
Masterfully written story about ghosts, friendship, and family
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST

1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time experiencing Hanna Alkaf’s writing. By the end of the prologue, I felt head to toe immersed in the story Alkaf was spinning. There is a richness to each sentence that puts you right there with Pink and Suraya. Alkaf is a master of precise dialogue and syntax that cuts to the core of the matter and can steal your breath away in bittersweet truths.

2.) Complexity of friendship- When we first meet them, both Pink and Suraya are lonely. Pink, because his prior master cared little for him and used him only for his powers, and Suraya, because she had a hard time fitting in, and her mom put up walls around her heart that Suraya couldn’t get around. The initial friendship between Pink and Suraya is beautiful. They become closer and closer over the years, but Pink has a darkness to him that he can’t, or won’t, let go of. When Suraya makes a new friend, Jing, Pink becomes jealous and destructive. But even then, Suraya has a hard time writing him off completely because she knows there is love in him. The explorations of friendship between Pink and Suraya and Jing and Suraya dive into setting boundaries, learning to be vulnerable, knowing when to let go, and trusting when to hold on.

3.) The themes of pain and healing: Suraya and her mom have a difficult relationship. From the hints about Suraya’s grandmother, you can tell some past pain is poisoning the present, but you don’t get the full picture until the end. Suraya and her mom both have to be painfully honest with each other about their strained relationship and figure out a way to heal together. Emotional healing is rarely linear, but you can tell that Suraya and her mom love each other deeply no matter what.

4.) The story is filled with fascinating and creepy creatures- THE GIRL AND THE GHOST is set in Malaysia, and there are all sorts of unique creatures and spirits about. Pink is a primary example as a pelesit, but Suraya also encounters langsuir, toyol, bajang, and more. I didn’t know much about Malaysian folk tales before reading this, and I frequently paused to research and learn about each new-to-me being as it appeared.

5.) The Star Wars jokes- Jing loves Star Wars and consistently makes A+ jokes and references to the franchise throughout.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account