The Welcome Wagon

 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
155 0
The Welcome Wagon
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 03, 2020
ISBN
978-1419744174
Buy This Book
      
In Cubby Hill, someone new is someone to celebrate!In a charming story from the award-winning creator of The Rabbit Listened Cori Doerrfeld, a young bear and his friends learn that even though meeting new people can be scary at first, sometimes it just means you find the best new neighbors ever!

When curious young bear Cooper Cub notices a new family moving to town, he jumps on his scooter and sets off on a journey through Cubby Hill, assembling his best friends to welcome the newcomers. They can’t help but wonder what the new family will be like. What if they don’t like flowers or play video games? What if they’re not like anyone who’s ever lived in town? In this sweet story all about welcoming new people and making new friends, Cori Doerrfeld brings the world of Cubby Hill to life with humor, charm, and a whole lot of warmth.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute picture book about meeting new friends
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to meet them, they think about what the new people will be like. Bobbi worries that they might be scary or mean. Cooper doubts that will be the case, but the friends are all a little scared when they arrive- to find out that meeting new people is something to celebrate!

What I loved: The messaging is really clear here. While it might be scary to meet new people, they might be something really neat, able to teach or show you new things and really fun to get to know. The illustrations are really adorable with plenty of details and cute animals throughout. There are also some valuable depictions of background characters who are disabled or dressed in religious garb (a character is wearing a hijab on one page) that is a nice touch (even though none of the main characters are).

What left me wanting more: Cooper and Bobbi who are riding on the scooter are not wearing helmets. This is juxtaposed to others on bikes who are wearing helmets and pronounced when they get into a minor accident. As a children's book, I would love to see the main characters being safe! The font is also really tiny, so it is difficult to read aloud. It also bounces between regular text and speech bubbles, which reads a little odd at times.

As a warning, when they arrive at the new people's house, there is an "alien" type figure that is scary for sensitive children. If you have a child who gets nervous around scary things, you may want to take precautions.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute picture book about the fun of making new friends and meeting new people.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."