Glitch

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
189 0
Glitch
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 09, 2020
ISBN
978-0062894359
Buy This Book
      
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David Anderson.

Regan Fitz and Elliot Mason have been enemies since they started training to become Glitchers—people who travel through time to preserve important historical events. But everything changes when they find a letter from Regan’s future self, warning them about an impending disaster that threatens them and everyone they know.

Will they be able to set aside their past in order to save the future?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

WHEN are you going?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Regan has been identified as someone who has the ability to "glitch", or travel through time, and is a student at the Academy run by her mother for such people. Glitchers train to be able to stop the Butterflies, who are evil agents employed by Mayhem to go back in history and change events. Regan messes up a lot during the simulations, but she has an uncanny knack for spotting Butterflies. Elliot doesn't get along with Regan-- her thinks she is snotty because her mother is in charge, and he resents that she doesn't work harder academically. It doesn't help their relationship when they both receive a "Cocoon" in Regan's handwriting-- a letter from Regan's future self that's aim is to change the future. This is just what Glitchers try to prevent Butterflies from doing! When the two have to work together, they think their simulation is a disaster, but they are asked to participate in a special Lewis and Clark academy that trains Glitchers with complementing powers and skills to work in tandem. The school for this is not located on the elusive island where the Academy is, but is in a super secret location inside a mountain. Regan and Elliot are the youngest team, and have some early success, mainly due to their Cocoon. When a disaster strikes the Academy, the two have to go on a real mission. Will they be able to save Glitchers from the evil attempts of Mayhem? And should they?
Good Points
There are not a lot of newer time travel books aside from Scarrow's Time Riders, Gutman's The Flashback Four or Welford's Time Traveling with a Hamster, although Messner's Ranger in Time and the classic Scieszka, Time Warp Trio books are good for younger readers. The best ones (e.g. Owen's excellent Here, There Be Dragons) make my brain hurt. Glitch is a much more accessible title, with great characters and a lot of action.

The best part of any time travel book is the different eras in which the characters land, and Regan and Eliot get to visit several different time periods. There is also the ever popular trope of saving the world from disaster, and this addresses this nicely as well.

The most important thing for a time travel book, for me, is to establish a reasonable vehicle for time travel without over explaining it. This does that perfectly. Not only that, but the travelers are given a mission, and are fighting against evil. It is also notable that the faculty don't time travel any more; it's just children. The simulations are interesting and bring up various points of history, like the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire of 1911, which is my favorite horrible historical event. (We all have one, right?) Fans of this author's fantastic Hoax for Hire will find this a good choice.

I would make an excellent Glitcher-- I would totally have called the inconsistency in 1970s hairstyles. I would, of course, need an Elliot who was better than I am at dates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cousins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of One...
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cousins
 
5.0
"THE COUSINS is a highly devourable and engaging family drama/mystery. The Story family is very wealthy, running a bunch of..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."
The Camelot Betrayal (Camelot Rising, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CAMELOT BETRAYAL continues Guinevere's story as she seeks to find her footing in a world that keeps throwing her..."
Loveboat, Taipei
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Ever’s pushy parents have already gotten their way by making her apply to medical school, but..."
The Mermaid, The Witch, and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE MERMAID, THE WITCH, AND THE SEA is a lush, beautiful, and romantic fantasy that follows Flora, now living as..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.3
"SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG is a YA contemporary romance about siblings, feeling like an outcast, and friendship. Sunny definitely feels..."
The Companion
 
5.0
"Margot is the survivor of a devastating accident in which her entire family drowns in their car. She is taken..."
How It All Blew Up
 
4.3
"Amir is an Iranian American teenager who is gay and in the closet. When another student blackmails him about his..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"I really enjoyed Skyhunter, another winner from Marie Lu. Talin is a refugee and is mute. She is a Striker,..."
Now That I've Found You
 
4.0
"Evie is a young actress living in L.A. and has a legacy to live up to. Her parents are famous..."
Clown in a Cornfield
 
3.3
"When Quinn and her father move to a tiny town, she's hoping to fit in and finish high school. Kettle..."