Glitch

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
110 0
Glitch
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 09, 2020
ISBN
978-0062894359
Buy This Book
      
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new whirlwind adventure about a pair of kids who must break all the rules of time travel, perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David Anderson.

Regan Fitz and Elliot Mason have been enemies since they started training to become Glitchers—people who travel through time to preserve important historical events. But everything changes when they find a letter from Regan’s future self, warning them about an impending disaster that threatens them and everyone they know.

Will they be able to set aside their past in order to save the future?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

WHEN are you going?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Regan has been identified as someone who has the ability to "glitch", or travel through time, and is a student at the Academy run by her mother for such people. Glitchers train to be able to stop the Butterflies, who are evil agents employed by Mayhem to go back in history and change events. Regan messes up a lot during the simulations, but she has an uncanny knack for spotting Butterflies. Elliot doesn't get along with Regan-- her thinks she is snotty because her mother is in charge, and he resents that she doesn't work harder academically. It doesn't help their relationship when they both receive a "Cocoon" in Regan's handwriting-- a letter from Regan's future self that's aim is to change the future. This is just what Glitchers try to prevent Butterflies from doing! When the two have to work together, they think their simulation is a disaster, but they are asked to participate in a special Lewis and Clark academy that trains Glitchers with complementing powers and skills to work in tandem. The school for this is not located on the elusive island where the Academy is, but is in a super secret location inside a mountain. Regan and Elliot are the youngest team, and have some early success, mainly due to their Cocoon. When a disaster strikes the Academy, the two have to go on a real mission. Will they be able to save Glitchers from the evil attempts of Mayhem? And should they?
Good Points
There are not a lot of newer time travel books aside from Scarrow's Time Riders, Gutman's The Flashback Four or Welford's Time Traveling with a Hamster, although Messner's Ranger in Time and the classic Scieszka, Time Warp Trio books are good for younger readers. The best ones (e.g. Owen's excellent Here, There Be Dragons) make my brain hurt. Glitch is a much more accessible title, with great characters and a lot of action.

The best part of any time travel book is the different eras in which the characters land, and Regan and Eliot get to visit several different time periods. There is also the ever popular trope of saving the world from disaster, and this addresses this nicely as well.

The most important thing for a time travel book, for me, is to establish a reasonable vehicle for time travel without over explaining it. This does that perfectly. Not only that, but the travelers are given a mission, and are fighting against evil. It is also notable that the faculty don't time travel any more; it's just children. The simulations are interesting and bring up various points of history, like the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire of 1911, which is my favorite horrible historical event. (We all have one, right?) Fans of this author's fantastic Hoax for Hire will find this a good choice.

I would make an excellent Glitcher-- I would totally have called the inconsistency in 1970s hairstyles. I would, of course, need an Elliot who was better than I am at dates.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Displacement
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teenager is pulled back in time to witness her...
Wild Week
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lift the flaps to discover what goes on in the...
Finding Balance
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Jase Ellison doesnt remember having acute lymphocytic leukemia when he...
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
When Tandi rescued Tamara from her evil Vampire Queen...
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of...
The Black Kids
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not...
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gripping, dark LGBT YA fantasy about two girls...
Shoes aka My Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's Avery's senior year in high school, and she has...
Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
Pleasant Grove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What's outside Pleasant Grove? Welcome to Pleasant...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...

Latest Member Reviews

Displacement
 
5.0
"DISPLACEMENT is a fascinating graphic novel that transports the main character and the reader to the 1940s internment/incarceration of Americans..."
Finding Balance
 
3.3
"FINDING BALANCE is a YA contemporary romance that follows Mari and Jase. Mari had osteogenic sarcoma when she was 10..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."