Can We Be Friends?: Unexpected Animal Friendships from around the World

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
236 0
Can We Be Friends?: Unexpected Animal Friendships from around the World
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 01, 2020
ISBN
978-0062941589
Buy This Book
      
With charming, colorful illustrations, this heartwarming picture book in rhyming text asks an age-old question—can we be friends?

Take a journey exploring five unexpected animal friendships! This adorable picture book, based on real-life stories, showcases popular duos like Mzee the tortoise and Owen the hippo and Koko the gorilla and her kittens, as well as lesser-known ones like Kumbali the cheetah and Kago the dog. Includes backmatter.

A list of the unlikely animal friendships from around the world and introduced to young animal fans in Can We Be Friends?:

1. Owen the hippo and Mzee the tortoise (Kenya)

2. Kumbali the cheetah and Kago the dog (Virginia, USA)

3. Themba the elephant and Albert the sheep (South Africa)

4. Koko the gorilla and kittens (California, USA)

5. Ben the dog and Duggie the wild dolphin (Ireland)

This sweet picture book supports children as they learn about empathy and kindness.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute stories of unexpected animal friends
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
CAN WE BE FRIENDS? is a cute picture book about unlikely animal friendships. The book combines rhyming prose about each animal with stories about animal friendships in real life. The illustrations are really cute. The book includes some better known friendships, like Koko the gorilla and kittens, with some less known but really interesting friendships of a dog and dolphin and a turtle and hippopotamus. The last page asks who the reader could be friends with, suggesting going outside their comfort zone for new friends.

What I loved: The illustrations are sweet with lots of unique animal friendships. Paired with the rhyming phrases, this is a cute read for young readers. The real-life stories are pretty lengthy, making this book better for older picture book readers. This ends up being a pretty long book for reading aloud, but is great for children who like a more involved book but are not yet to chapter books. The moral of the story is important and encourages children to find new friends that they might not have thought at first glance.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute book of animal friendships with in-depth information about real-life unexpected friends. The colorful illustrations and rhyming phrases make this a sweet and fun read for elementary school aged children.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."