The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)

Featured
The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 07, 2020
ISBN
978-0062947697
Buy This Book
      
The first in an action-packed debut middle grade fantasy duology about a Cuban American girl who discovers that she’s one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret, the Aru Shah series, and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Callie Martinez-Silva didn’t mean to turn her best friend into a pop star. But when a simple pep talk leads to miraculous results, Callie learns she’s the newest muse of epic poetry, one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology tasked with protecting humanity’s fate in secret.

Whisked away to Muse Headquarters, she joins three recruits her age, who call themselves the Muse Squad. Together, the junior muses are tasked with using their magic to inspire and empower—not an easy feat when you’re eleven and still figuring out the goddess within.

When their first assignment turns out to be Callie’s exceptionally nerdy classmate, Maya Rivero, the squad comes to Miami to stay with Callie and her Cuban family. There, they discover that Maya doesn’t just need inspiration, she needs saving from vicious Sirens out to unleash a curse that will corrupt her destiny.

As chaos erupts, will the Muse Squad be able to master their newfound powers in time to thwart the Cassandra Curse . . . or will it undo them all?

Editor review

1 review
cute middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
MUSE SQUAD: THE CASSANDRA CURSE is a fun middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present. Callie is a seemingly normal girl dealing with bullies at school and her divorced parents being separated by a great distance- a fact which becomes more worrisome when her father from across the country tells her she is about to have a half-sibling. Callie has enough to worry about.

But then, Callie learns that she is one of nine muses, and suddenly, her life gets a lot more complicated. Accompanied by the other muses, who are mostly her age, she must figure out how to navigate her own life while she also works to stop the Cassandra Curse that affects them all.

What I loved: This was a fun action-filled middle grade fantasy that introduces the muses from Greek mythology in a fun new way- with young girls imbued with their powers. I liked the introduction of outside concerns as well, which are mostly handled well with regards to friendship and navigating an evolving family. I also appreciate the diversity of the main characters and to have a main character that is heavier (though still dealing with body issues around it from bullies and her own concerns).

Final verdict: Overall, this is a fresh new take of Greek mythology for young readers. With magic and adventure around every turn and a heroine that is easy to relate to, this will appeal to the middle grade audience. Recommend for PERCY JACKSON fans.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account