The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
453 0
The Cassandra Curse (Muse Squad, #1)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 07, 2020
ISBN
978-0062947697
Buy This Book
      
The first in an action-packed debut middle grade fantasy duology about a Cuban American girl who discovers that she’s one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology. Perfect for fans of The Serpent’s Secret, the Aru Shah series, and the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Callie Martinez-Silva didn’t mean to turn her best friend into a pop star. But when a simple pep talk leads to miraculous results, Callie learns she’s the newest muse of epic poetry, one of the nine Muses of Greek mythology tasked with protecting humanity’s fate in secret.

Whisked away to Muse Headquarters, she joins three recruits her age, who call themselves the Muse Squad. Together, the junior muses are tasked with using their magic to inspire and empower—not an easy feat when you’re eleven and still figuring out the goddess within.

When their first assignment turns out to be Callie’s exceptionally nerdy classmate, Maya Rivero, the squad comes to Miami to stay with Callie and her Cuban family. There, they discover that Maya doesn’t just need inspiration, she needs saving from vicious Sirens out to unleash a curse that will corrupt her destiny.

As chaos erupts, will the Muse Squad be able to master their newfound powers in time to thwart the Cassandra Curse . . . or will it undo them all?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

cute middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
MUSE SQUAD: THE CASSANDRA CURSE is a fun middle grade fantasy that brings Greek mythology into the present. Callie is a seemingly normal girl dealing with bullies at school and her divorced parents being separated by a great distance- a fact which becomes more worrisome when her father from across the country tells her she is about to have a half-sibling. Callie has enough to worry about.

But then, Callie learns that she is one of nine muses, and suddenly, her life gets a lot more complicated. Accompanied by the other muses, who are mostly her age, she must figure out how to navigate her own life while she also works to stop the Cassandra Curse that affects them all.

What I loved: This was a fun action-filled middle grade fantasy that introduces the muses from Greek mythology in a fun new way- with young girls imbued with their powers. I liked the introduction of outside concerns as well, which are mostly handled well with regards to friendship and navigating an evolving family. I also appreciate the diversity of the main characters and to have a main character that is heavier (though still dealing with body issues around it from bullies and her own concerns).

Final verdict: Overall, this is a fresh new take of Greek mythology for young readers. With magic and adventure around every turn and a heroine that is easy to relate to, this will appeal to the middle grade audience. Recommend for PERCY JACKSON fans.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his...
Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Falling for the boy next door? No. Definitely not....

Latest Member Reviews

Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE BUNNY is an interesting picture book read about a bunny's first trip out of the burrow. Bunny is..."
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
"When Jordyn's mother offers to help Noura Alwan's family settle in Tampa, Florida, Jordyn hopes that it will improve her..."
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
"In 2012, Samira and her family are members of the Rohingya people. Because of the oppressive government in Myanmar (or..."
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
"NOT NOW, COW is a charming and funny picture book about seasonal clothes. The animals are getting ready for each..."
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
"CUCU! EN EL MAR/ PEEKABOO! IN THE OCEAN is an adorable bilingual lift-the-flap board book. Each page features an animal..."
Family Reunion
 
4.0
"FAMILY REUNION is a colorful picture book that captures all the joy of seeing family, even when you think you..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Early One Morning
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Saint Ivy: Kind At All Costs
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Puppy War (Wild & Chance #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Duckscares: The Nightmare Formula
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Shark Summer
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."