Shy Ones

Featured
Shy Ones
Age Range
2+
Release Date
August 04, 2020
ISBN
978-1912497355
Buy This Book
      
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless you were looking for him, you wouldn't know he was missing at all. But you know us, the shy ones, we can always spot one another.

This delicate picture book about a quiet little octopus that keeps to himself in a school of lively fish explores the topic of shyness and friendship. Stunningly illustrated by bestselling creator of Hug Me, Simona Ciraolo, this book is sure to resonate with young children across the world, particularly those who are just starting school.

Editor review

1 review
delightfully sweet read about feeling different and friendship
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is about Maurice, the adorable flapjack octopus. Maurice is sometimes hard to spot, because he doesn't stand out in class (when the other children are raising their hands, he is hiding under the desk) or on the playground. However, when no one is watching, he's an amazing dancer.

Maurice is invited to dress-up party, and when his parent RSVP's yes (even though he doesn't want to go), he creates a colorful paper bag to wear. Once at the party, he meets with a friend who is shy like him (hiding under a similar paper bag)- Lucy, the box fish. The book concludes by saying the shy ones always know how to find each other.

What I loved: The illustrations here are so lovely. They capture the ocean atmosphere and the adorable creatures herein so well. Children will love trying to spot the hiding Maurice on each page. After you have read the book, you will notice that if you go back, you can also spot Lucy hiding throughout, and this adds to the fun of multiple reads. The text is simple, which works for a broad range of ages ad the pages can turn quickly, making this great for even young toddlers. Whether shy or outgoing, this book will capture children's attention with the cute creatures, bright colors, and simple text. This picture book speaks to the feeling of being different and making friends.

Final verdict: Perfect for fans of HELLO, MY NAME IS OCTICORN, SHY ONES is a sweet and lovely read that will capture children's imaginations. Young readers will love following Maurice in this endearing book about friendship and feeling different.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account