Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
174 0
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 14, 2020
ISBN
978-0062802699
Buy This Book
      
Strike and the Miners are hungrier than ever for a championship after losing yet another Ultrabowl. When they suffer a shocking defeat in their season opener, Strike knows that something is off with his game, but the secret hampering his play is too large to reveal.

If he can’t perform at the highest level, what chances do the Miners have against the unstoppable Neutrons?

Worse yet, his powerful enemy, Raiden Zuna, knows Strike is hiding something. Zuna offers to help, and Strike is tempted—but the information Zuna wants in return threatens Strike’s friend Boom, as well as the growing Dark Side resistance. When rumors surface about Zuna’s mysterious grand plan, code-named Operation Deathstrike, Strike’s choice could have consequences he never anticipated.

Even as the Ultraball games ratchet up in intensity, with teams using explosive new tactics to reach the Ultrabowl, Strike has bigger decisions to make if he wants to keep his teammates—and the moon—safe.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

More Sports in Space
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team loses to the low ranked Molemen, they know that they have to take a hard look at their roster in order to have a decent season. Strike is also dealing with a secret-- he is quickly outgrowing his Ultrabot suit, which will mean the end of his career. To complicate matters, Striker finds out from a group of Dark Siders that Book is still alive, and he starts to get coded messages from her. The most pressing threat is Raiden Zuna. He's not only backing the Neutrons, who are on track for their fifth championship win, but he's bought up most of the media so they only report stories he approves. He's still trying to take over the Moon, but he takes time to reach out to Strike. He knows Strike's secret, and claims he can help him to modify his suit so he can continue playing, just like one of his players. WIth Zuna threatening the safety of all of the communities on the Moon, the competition to reach the Ultrabowl ramps up, with players making more and more violent choices in order to win. When Strike finds out how Zuna REALLY helped his player with the Ultrabot suit, he realizes that there is nothing that can extend his playing time, and he has to look out for the safety of Boom, his players, and the Moon, not matter how much this runs him afoul of Zuna.
Good Points
For sports players who also like science fiction, this is a perfect amalgamation. Ultraball is similar to football, if football involved flying, underground passages, explosions, and suits that give the players super power. There are lots of games described in exquisite detail, and I've noticed on most of the reviews of the first book that this is what the teachers and librarians don't like about the story. These descriptions are, of course, exactly what middle school sports fans absolutely want in a book!



Zuna is an interesting super villain-- he has so much money and power that he seems unstoppable, but has certain weaknesses. I loved that Strike had no intention of trusting him, but was sucked in by his desire to continue with his sport. The fact that the players will take horrific chances to stay in the Ultrabot suits has direct parallels to football players continuing to suit up despite the threat of concussions and traumatic brain injury.



The best part about this is, of course, the Miners and the variety of characters on the team. My own favorite was Torch's sister,who shows up wanting to help the team in any capacity, and who ends up being a formidable player in her own right, earning the nickname "Nitro". It made me very happy that the Ultraball players were about equally male and female, and there wasn't much discussion that this was anything unusal. Is it going to take the destruction of the entire Earth, a Moon colony, and robotic suits before we get gender parity in sports?


Ultraball is such an unusual mix of elements that it's hard to find books like it. Readers who go back and forth between Tim Green and Mike Lupica and then Jason Fry, Joshua Levy, and D.J. MacHale will wish that they were able to take their own game into space.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."