Cityscape: Where Art and Science Meet

Featured
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
239 0
Cityscape: Where Art and Science Meet
Age Range
4+
Release Date
May 19, 2020
ISBN
978-0062893314
Buy This Book
      
Triangles and towers. Bricks and blocks. Engineering and art. A city has all those—and more! Acclaimed author and photographer April Pulley Sayre explores the basic STEAM concepts that are always just around the corner with striking photographs and a lyrical, layered text. Cityscape celebrates the science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics of urban life.

April Pulley Sayre has turned her keen photographic eye to the art and architecture that fills every city. Stunning photographs illuminate basic STEAM concepts such as geometry (lines, angles, and shapes), transportation, power, building, construction, balance, and community, while also celebrating the beauty, diversity, and magic of human creativity and the written word.

This informational picture book features a rich, read-aloud text, remarkable full-color photographs, and excellent backmatter. Cityscape is an ideal resource for teaching how art, science, and design intersect and an accessible, awe-inspiring choice for story time.

Includes backmatter with information about the photographs and additional resources for STEAM activities.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

fascinating and cool collection of photographs
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
CITYSCAPE is a photographic journey through interesting views in cities, including bridges, mirror windows, levers, and pulleys. The text is minimal throughout and forms a sparse poem, allowing the photographs to speak largely for themselves. The book concludes with questions and ideas for how to explore the cities near you.

What I loved: The photographs here are stunning, and this is a lovely book just to flip through. There is a lot of interesting things for children to point out and discuss with regards to architecture and construction. Many things are both beautiful and useful, like bridges and some parking garages. This would even be a great coffee table book. The text is pretty sparse and poetic, allowing the photos to stand on their own. As a result, the pages could turn as fast as the eyes can explore the images. Many ages of children (and adults) could enjoy this book as well. A particular favorite with our little one is the Oscar Mayer Weinermobile which appears on a bridge, but there are lots of really cool things to explore.

What left me wanting more: As a minor point, I would have liked to have additional context for the images on each image, such as of the cities they were taken in and/or the structures shown. Some are pretty recognizable, but there are a lot that I don't know and would be cool to learn more about.

Final verdict: A lovely collection of photographs, CITYSCAPE explores the beauty of architecture that can be found in cities. This is a book that could appeal to many ages.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."