Lone Wolf

Featured
Lone Wolf
Author(s)
Age Range
2+
Release Date
May 19, 2020
ISBN
978-0062943828
Buy This Book
      
Maple loves being the Parker family’s pet dog . . . but why does everyone else think she’s a wolf? Fans of Red: A Crayon’s Story and Wolfie the Bunny will cheer for Maple to find exactly where she belongs.

Maple the husky is a valued member of the team, but strangers always seem to think she’s a wolf! It’s true: Maple can hunt, she can howl, and she can dig, just like wolves can. Oh, no! What if she is a wolf and doesn’t belong with her family after all?

A perfectly paced tale of family, self-acceptance, and belonging, Lone Wolf strikes the balance between heartwarming and hilarious. This irrepressible and sensitive dog’s identity crisis and spirited journey of self-discovery will capture readers’ hearts, whether or not they have a pet themselves.

Editor review

1 review
lovely picture book about belonging and family
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
LONE WOLF is an adorable picture book about belonging and family. Maple loves her family, reading with Avery, playing tug-of-war with Jax, and conning Mom and Dad out of extra treats and extra-long walks. However, other people are frequently pointing out that Maple looks like a wolf. They ask it so much that Maple begins to wonder if she belongs in the wild. One day, when the gate is left open, Maple runs to the woods.

Once on her own, Maple realizes that she belongs with the family. She is not a wolf, she is a Parker. She heads home to find her pack and her place in the world.

What I loved: The artwork here is lovely and whimsical with many different images adding to the appeal, such as descriptive images with arrows, maps with trails, and even a close up of Maple's face. I also really appreciated the inclusion of a character in a wheelchair (Avery), as that representation is so important. The messages of belonging and family are lovely and conveyed so well by the story of this family pet.

The word-to-picture ratio is relatively low, with only a few sentences on each page and plenty of details in the illustrations to keep children engaged. This is great for toddler through elementary school-aged children.

Final verdict: A lovely story of belonging and family, LONE WOLF is a delightful and beautifully illustrated picture book that will certainly speak to young readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account