Camp Murderface

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
221 0
Camp Murderface
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 26, 2020
ISBN
978-0062871633
Buy This Book
      
The year: 1983. The place: Ohio. The camp: Scary as heck.

Camp Sweetwater is finally reopening, three decades after it mysteriously shut down. Campers Corryn Quinn and Tez Jones have each had more than enough of their regular lives—they’re so ready to take their summer at Sweetwater by storm.

But before they can so much as toast one marshmallow, strange happenings start…happening. Can they survive the summer? Or will Camp Sweetwater shut down for good this time—with them inside?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Scarier than Swimming Lessons in Early June
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Tez and Corryn are not super happy to be traveling to Camp Sweetwater in 1983. Neither are super excited about being out in the damp, insect laden forests of Ohio, and the strangely abusive, British counselors don't help. Mary and Gavin give all the campers insulting nicknames, and the cabins are all fairly dismal. Not only that, but creepy things keep happening. Corryn's cabin is positively alive with bugs, and the lake seems to be teeming with something as well. Not only that, but when looking through old yearbooks from 1883, there is a picture that looks strikingly like the odd Old Lifeguard with his old fashioned swimming outfit and handlebar mustache. Still, there are voices that speak to the campers, and Tez and Corryn figure out that they must be from three girls who died in a mysterious fire years ago. The two do more research at the public library in a nearby town (where they are not supposed to be!) and find that the camp had been named Camp Devilwood. Can they figure out what really happened at the camp and put the restless spirits at peace before disaster occurs.
Good Points
This has a great cover, and I really liked both Tez and Corryn. Tez has Marfan syndrome, and this effects of this are discussed briefly. I had a student a few years ago with this, and can't think of any other fictional portrayals in middle grade literature. The 1980s seems to be a popular time period for setting books with creepy monsters, thanks to Stranger Things. The story moves quickly, and the mystery is easy to follow.

It's interesting that the counselors are so mean. There are a lot of things about the 1980s that I have forgotten existed, and this may be one of them. Certainly, their methods would find them out of a job very quickly in today's world!

love Berk's The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin (2010), Guy Langan, Crime Scene Investigator (2012) and Strike Three, You're Dead (2013) mainly because they are actually murder mysteries. This is more along the lines of Hahn's ghost mysteries, such as Took or The Girl in the Locked Room. Mitchell seems to write more for YA audiences. This was a great summer camp romp, but my students would probably wish it actually had more murder in it. (Which sounds so, so wrong!)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."
My Best Friend Prince Charming
 
4.5
"‘My Best Friend Prince Charming’ by Cindy Ray Hale tells the story of Ryker and Shannon, two best friends who..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."