Summer at Meadow Wood

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
162 0
Summer at Meadow Wood
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 19, 2020
ISBN
978-0062795458
Buy This Book
      
Vic Brown did not want to go to camp this summer.

Even though it’s nice being back with her friends at Meadow Wood, Vic still can’t forget about the secret reason her mom wanted her and her brother out of the house—or how much her family is going to change. When her home life is blowing up, it can be hard to focus on campfires and canoeing.

But there is something about summer and surprises that go together like blueberry pancakes and maple syrup. And soon, Vic starts to feel like—just maybe—a summer at Meadow Wood was exactly what she needed.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Summer Camp Lessons
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Vic has gone to summer camp for a while, and loves her friends in her cabin, but this summer she isn't as enthusiastic. She would rather be at home, except that things are not good between her parents, and she has found out a secret about why her mother wants to get her out of the house for eight weeks. Camp itself isn't great-- her counselor, Chieko, doesn't seem to want to be there, there are few girls in Yarrow cabin, her "camp sister" is a precocious, homesick girl named Vera, and things seem off with bunkmates Carly, Jordanna and the Jaida's. It doesn't help when Vic misses activity sign ups and ends up with "farm". The only other camper there is Bella, and she is more interested in painting her nails blue than picking blueberries, although Earl, who owns the camp and works in the gardens, seems nice. When her canteen money is cut off by her mother, Vic feels sorry for herself, but Cheiko gives her advice from Eleanor Roosevelt-- work is a good antidote for feeling down. Vic helps Earl out more on the farm and even volunteers to go help out at the farmer's market on Saturday morning... at 5 a.m.! There, she meets a boy her age, Angel, whose family has a flower shop, and the two enjoy hanging out. Her fellow camp mates run into problems, one gets injured, and things with her family aren't great, but Vic tries to find a way forward for herself.
Good Points
Earl steals the show, in my opinion, with Angel giving this a delightful Little Darlings feeling, but without the, er, racy parts. (Sorry. I am now distracted with thoughts of Matt Dillon.) Vic is a bit of a brat at first, although she may have some reason to be, but she gets over herself, which is always good to see. Her home problems are real and serious, but since she is away from home, they can't really be dealt with. Cheiko is not a great counselor, but her backstory is interesting, as is how she encourages Vic. I love how Vic visited her brother to make him feel better and uses her hard earned money to put into his canteen account. There are lots of camp stories out there, but this one really stands out.

I thought this would be a typical camp book at the beginning, with all of the girl drama, and almost gave up, but this has a lot of interesting facets to it, so I'm glad I continued. This is a great choice for kids who love to read about summer camp like Battle's Camp Average, Darling's Maddie's Camp Crush, Miller's Click, Weissman's Nerd Camp and Wolitzer and Sloan's From Nightowl to Dogfish

This reminded me of Nickerson's The Secrets of Blueberries, Brothers, Moose & Me, which doesn't circulate super well, but which I enjoyed. I loved this author's A Kind of Paradise and am always glad to see books where children learn the merits of working!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."