Worse Than Weird

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
264 0
Worse Than Weird
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 10, 2020
ISBN
978-0062852588
Buy This Book
      
Hoping to ditch two months of chicken coops, kale, and her parents’ antiscreen rules, Mac MacLeod sets out to win a citywide food cart scavenger hunt and the money she needs for the summer coding camp of her dreams.

But Mac discovers more than just clues during her cross-city sprint—like how her weird parents might not be the worst thing compared to the circumstances of those around her.

With the same humor and hope of her debut novel, Mostly the Honest Truth, Jody J. Little gives readers another spunky, unforgettable character to root for.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Summer in Portland
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in the living room with the occasional chicken and her dresses is a small basket. Her parents are Millenial hippies who host summer festivals, play bongos, are part of a naked bike riders group and bring in goats for goat yoga. This all exasperates Mac, who just wants to escape by going to a computer coding camp instead of having to hang out with her parents over the summer. The cost is $500, but she hopes to get her more main stream uncle, James, to plead her case. When James arrives, he has rebranded himself as Coho and has bought into the parents' alternative lifestyle ways. Needing another plan, Mac finds out about a local food truck competition-- collect ten clues from different trucks and win $2,000. She enlists her two best friends, but they are both busy. One is a competitive swimmer pushed by her parents into something she doesn't really want to do, and the other is having family problems she is not sharing with Mac. Once they are too busy, she finds an odd ally in Joey, a boy from her school who has initiated several good projects at school, but seems to turn up at the most serendipitous times. Also to his credit is that he doesn't seem to care about the fact that Mac's parents do goat yoga or ride bikes naked, because he has bigger parent problems of his own. Will the two manage to win the money and use it to help ameliorate the problems in their lives?
Good Points
The intergenerational squabbles are spot on for middle grade; no matter what your parents are like in middle school, they can be embarrassing, and Mac's parents have turned this into an art form. Since they are earthy/crunchy/granola, of course she is interested in technology and wants to code! The depiction of Portland is interesting, and the fact that Joey and Mac are able to wander around on their own will be intriguing to young readers, who may not have this freedom! Joey's story adds a level of seriousness to Mac's rather lighthearted complaints. Definitely a book from which many readers could learn new things!

The idea of living in a tiny house is an interesting one, and I think younger readers would have benefited from more of a description/explanation of Mac's home. I liked that the story started out quickly, but Mac's house was so interesting that I wanted to know more. The same goes for the food truck contest-- my town doesn't have food trucks except at festivals, so the idea that they are just hanging around in the streets was fascinating
.
Worse Than Weird wasn't that weird, but it was a bit quirky. I always enjoy books that show me how people go about their daily lives in an environment different from my own. Hand this to readers who want to see how other people live and who enjoyed books like Respicio's The House That Lou Built, Nielsen's No Fixed Address, and Svetcov's Parked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."