The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
Author(s)
Age Range
11+
Release Date
September 03, 2019
ISBN
978-0008348915
Buy This Book
      
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and the star of a stylish new detective series.

Agatha Oddlow has been a detective for as long as she can remember – she’s just been waiting for her first big case. And nothing gets bigger than saving the City of London from some strange goings-on.

With a scholarship to the prestigious St Regis School, a cottage in the middle of Hyde Park, a room full of beloved sleuthing novels, and a secret key that gives her access to a whole hidden side of London, Agatha is perfectly poised to solve the mystery of what’s going on. But just who can she trust when no one is quite who they seem…

Editor review

1 review
Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie!
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence how she handles a case. She and her best friend Liam have their own "detective agency" called Oddlow Agency. They haven't received any work, but Agatha knows it's coming. Everyone thinks she's odd which is why she incorporated "No Case is Too Odd" into her policy.

After a series of events starting with a lady getting hit by a bike, Agatha finds herself trying solve her biggest case. She believes someone is poisoning London. However, the deeper she digs into the case, the more dangerous things grow. Agatha isn't one to be scared off easily, but she worries for her dad. Agatha must use her head to figure out the best way to go about things, especially since Liam starts to worry as well.

I love how determined Agatha is, but sometimes it comes off as a little rude. I enjoyed the story and look forward to seeing her grow as a character in her future cases. Liam is my absolute favorite and he makes a great sidekick. He's the Hastings to her Poirot and it works perfectly. AGATHA ODDLY is a series for fans of mysteries and detectives and I love the inspiration of Hercule Poirot because I'm a huge fan!


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of mysteries, suspense, detectives, Agatha Christie, strong females, and friendship.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account