Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)

Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 20, 2020
ISBN
978-0062879400
Buy This Book
      
The ordinary becomes extraordinary in this sparkling first book in the Starfell series, a modern classic perfect for fans of Nevermoor and The Land of Stories.

Willow Moss’s small magic has always seemed unremarkable. But when the most feared witch in the land of Starfell appears on the Moss family’s doorstep looking for help, it’s not Willow’s talented sisters she seeks, it’s Willow. Because Willow is a finder of lost things—and Moreg Vaine says that last Tuesday has gone missing.

Willow and Moreg set out on a perilous journey across the wilds of Starfell, looking for what they’ve lost. If they don’t discover what happened to the missing day, the repercussions could be devastating for the entire kingdom.

Can Willow find the day, to save the day?

Editor review

1 review
charming middle grade fantasy
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed rather unremarkable- her magic is good at finding things, and when compared to her sisters' brilliance and impressive magic, this seems small. That is, it did until a witch approaches her for help in finding a lost day, last Tuesday, which no one can seem to remember.

In order to prevent an apocalypse which may occur if last Tuesday is not recovered, Willow sets out on a journey, accompanied by a monster she found. This monster is a kobold, which looks like a cat, but is not a cat. His name is Oswin. Together, they meet all manner of interesting magical creatures as they work to save the world.

What I loved: This book is pretty funny and charming in ways that I found reminiscent of Ronald Dahl, and I would definitely recommend for the middle grade crowd, particularly young readers. Oswin really stole the show for me, and I adored his injected comedy (unintentional) as he is a clever creature. Willow is completely charming and heroic, and she is a perfect character to guide us through this engaging and unique world.

Final verdict: Great for young readers in the middle grade crowd, this unique fantasy is a fabulous journey of self-confidence, adventure, and magic. Highly recommend for fans of Ronald Dahl and Shel Silverstein.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account