Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
372 0
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 24, 2019
ISBN
978-1632060990
Buy This Book
      
From the New Yorker “20 Under 40” author of Atmospheric Disturbances comes a brain-twisting adventure story of a girl named Fred on a quest through a world of fantastical creatures, strange logic, and a powerful prejudice against growing up.

Fred and her math-teacher mom are always on the move, and Fred is getting sick of it. She’s about to have yet another birthday in a new place without friends. On the eve of turning thirteen, Fred sees something strange in the living room: her mother, dressed for a party, standing in front of an enormous paper lantern—which she steps into and disappears.

Fred follows her and finds herself in the Land of Impossibility—a loopily illogical place where time is outlawed, words carry dire consequences, and her unlikely allies are a depressed white elephant and a pugnacious mongoose mother of seventeen. With her new friends, Fred sets off in search of her mom, braving dungeons, Insult Fish, Fearsome Ferlings, and a mad Rat Queen. To succeed, the trio must find the solution to an ageless riddle.

Gorgeously illustrated and reminiscent of The Phantom Tollbooth and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Rivka Galchen’s Rat Rule 79 is an instant classic for curious readers of all ages.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

completely charming and delightfully ridiculous
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as she and her mother keep moving. She does not have any friends yet and feels completely awkward, to the point that she would rather just not have a birthday party. After she goes to bed, she decides to come back and speak with her mother some more, when she sees her mother dressed for a party, stepping through a large paper lantern.

Fred follows to find herself in the Land of Impossibility, where she first encounters an imprisoned white elephant, Downer, who explains the basics about the Land and its Rat Queen, particularly her many rules and the very important Rat Rule 79, where so many things are outlawed, including birthday parties. As Fred begins her quest to find her mother, she will encounter puzzles, riddles, and all sorts of magnificent and clever creatures.

What I loved: This is a very thoughtful book that presents a lot of ideas in interesting and reflective ways (such as why children must go to bed when they feel less need for sleep but adults, who love sleep, stay up late). The text and characters are completely charming, often taking colloquialisms to the literal (e.g. when people could not talk about the elephant in the room, Downer was ignored for being that elephant). It is very humorous and quite clever that makes it an engaging read, even for adults. The book is also quite unique, as I am not sure I have read anything quite like it.

I also really enjoyed the celebration of childhood, as children are the best thing in the world in the Land of Impossibility. The snippets from Fred with her mother were also marvelous, and some of the puzzles and games quite imaginative.

Final verdict: In the vein of Lemony Snicket, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, and THE WIZARD OF OZ, prepare to be transported to a fascinating, clever, and often comical land along with Fred, as she begins an incredible journey. Highly recommend for middle grade (and all aged) readers who are looking for a book that does not fit any mold.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his...
Even and Odd
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Even and Odd are sisters who share magic. Lately, though,...
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Combining inspiration, humor, and entomology, Instagram artist Ali Beckman (@SoFlyTaxidermy)...
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Bunny on the day that she ventures out...
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
N.H. Senzai and Shannon Hitchcock expertly craft the intersection of...
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Samira thinks of her life as before and after: before...
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this hilarious picture book, all of the farm animals...
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Peekaboo! Who's hiding in the ocean? Lift the flap to...
Family Reunion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this contemporary #OwnVoices tale, a boy is reluctant to...
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Furyborn meets A Curse So Dark and Lonely in this...
The Whaler's Daughter
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
In 1910, twelve-year-old Savannah lives with her widowed father on...
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...

Latest Member Reviews

The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Made in Korea
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Ember of Night
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Immortal Game
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
The Nature of Witches
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Sixteen Scandals
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Of Princes and Promises (Rosetta Academy, #2)
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
We Are Inevitable
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Again Again
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."
Down with this Ship
 
5.0
"Am here to testify what this great spell caster done for me. i never believe in spell casting, until when..."