TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)

TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 03, 2019
ISBN
978-0062689931
Buy This Book
      
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell.

TBH, Cece has no time for her boy-crazy friends. She wants to make a bigger impact in middle school than just choosing the perfect kissy cat-face emoji.

But that’s hard when Gabby and Prianka talk about their crushes 24/7. (To be honest, it’s way too much information!) Between nailing down summer plans, getting busted for iMessaging in class, and organizing the spring fair, things are getting rocky for the BFFs.

But when Prianka gets an SOS text from her friend Vishal, the girls realize they need to band together—because some of their classmates have bigger challenges than dealing with sixth grade stress.

Editor review

1 review
fun and fast-paced contemporary middle grade
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as a stand-alone. The book is told mainly through text messages, but also through passed notes, diaries, and emails. Prianka, Gabby, and Cece are BFFs and have been for a long time. Middle school is mixing things up, however, with new focuses on boys, social issues (bullying), and planning for the spring fair. They have also been making a point to include the new girl, Victoria, in their activities.

What I loved: This book is highly relatable for the middle school audience and great for reluctant readers who will speed through the text messages and text lingo. The problems the girls are facing are likely encountered by many children of this in between age, not quite feeling like they fit in, that their friends are getting into things that they are not sure they like, fear of being away from home at sleepaway camps (they are planning a summer camp), and navigating schoolwork and other friends. Perhaps most interesting in this book is Arjun's story. Arjun moved to their school from a place where he and his family were being bullied in really scary ways. People were calling them Muslim, even though they were Hindu, but regardless the profiling and bullying really escalated. Arjun shares his story through a planned speech, and this can be really helpful for children to learn about and understand the ramifications of.

While some of the communications seemed a little awkward, blunt or brief, I think this accurate to the age group portrayed, and middle grade readers will really enjoy reading this and the other books in this series.

Final verdict: Great for the middle grade audience, TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is a fun and fast-paced journey through middle school issues. The unique format makes for an engaging book with broad appeal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account