Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
144 0
Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 24, 2019
ISBN
978-0062868329
Buy This Book
      
Oh no! Pete the Kitty has a tummyache. Good thing his dad knows just what to do. It’s time to go to the doctor!

Except Pete may be a teensy-weensy bit nervous about his first visit to the doctor. With the help of his dad, Pete discovers the doctor isn’t scary!

Beginning readers will easily relate to Pete the Kitty as he overcomes his fear of going to the doctor's office. My First I Can Read books are perfect for shared reading with a child.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Visit to the Doctor
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
'Pete the Kitty Goes to the Doctor' by Kimberly & James Dean is a great addition to any child's “I Can Read” library. These books focus on basic language, word repetition, and whimsical illustrations, so there is something that all kids can find interesting. The story follows Pete as he starts feeling ill. His dad wants to take him to the doctor, but he is reluctant to go. Little does he know that while he's there, he'll learn that going to the doctor isn't such a scary thing, and there is actually much to be learned that will help with the overall process of feeling better.

This book does a nice job of focusing on the relationship between a parent and child as well as the relationship between a child and his doctor. It shows that even what seems troublesome might not be so bad. Our worries sometimes get in the way of our ability to process what is happening, and this can lead to uncertainty and misunderstandings. Also, leaving our comfort zone and everything that makes us feel good for the uncertainty of what might happen (for example, what the doctor might say) is not always easy. Pete finds, through his own sickness and trip to the doctor, that everything isn't always what it seems and there might be something positive that can come out of something that originally seemed negative.
Good Points
This book does a nice job of focusing on the relationship between a parent and child as well as the relationship between a child and his doctor. It shows that even what seems troublesome might not be so bad. Our worries sometimes get in the way of our ability to process what is happening, and this can lead to uncertainty and misunderstandings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."