Dog and Rabbit

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
254 0
Dog and Rabbit
Age Range
2+
Release Date
October 08, 2019
ISBN
978-1623541071
Buy This Book
      
A funny, sweet story of unrequited friendship from the creator of Beautiful Oops! and Crazy Hair Day.

Dog likes Rabbit. Rabbit likes Bunny. But Bunny ignores Rabbit. How will the friendship triangle resolve? Written in four parts, this picture book navigates the pitfalls of budding friendship and explores the rewards of patience under the sure hand of seasoned author/illustrator Barney Saltzberg.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

charming and lovely picture book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
DOG AND RABBIT is a charming tale of friendship. Told in four parts, the book introduces Dog and then Rabbit. Both are happy to be alone, but sometimes it gets lonely and they long for a friend to play with and walk/hop with. However, making new friends can be difficult. When Rabbit arrives at Dog's house, he sees a bunny magnet/sticker on the fridge and decides to make friends with it, smiling at the bunny. Dog notices Rabbit, and wishing to be friends with Rabbit, smiles at Rabbit before Rabbit hops away. In the final part, Rabbit finds out the bunny is not real, and Dog and Rabbit become friends.

With lovely, colorful illustrations and simple text, this book could easily work for older infants and toddlers as well as preschool/early elementary schoolers who are emerging readers. The text-to-picture ratio is ideal for both, and while the text is repetitive with simple words, it is not boring and tells a truly charming story.

What I loved: The images are lovely with charming characters featured on every page. They are simple with a few small details but tell the story perfectly with Dog and Rabbit having very expressive faces. The field of flowers and stars in night images are truly lovely. The text is simple, clear, and completely adorable. Friendship is complicated, and it can be difficult to make friends. This story also gives hope and shows the value of smiles and patience. The pages themselves are also nice and thick, making them easy to turn and difficult to tear- a valuable trait in books for young children.

Final verdict: Ideal for emerging readers and young listeners, this lovely story of friendship is certainly worth picking up. Elegant illustrations combined with charming text make this a fantastic picture book about patience, smiles, and making friends.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."