A Warm Friendship

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
256 0
A Warm Friendship
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 01, 2019
ISBN
978-1605374499
Buy This Book
      
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and loss. The detailed illustrations are sweet with rich vibrant colours that enrich the text." - Storywraps

Squirrel and Snowman are the best of friends. Will their friendship last forever?

A warm story about making friends and letting them go. For friends ages 5 years and up.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

sweet book celebrating friendship
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman shivering in the cold, and brings him a scarf. Other animals join in, bringing Snowman lots of warm colorful scarves. Snowman is finally warm. However, when the weather warms up, Snowman disappears, leaving a pile of scarves behind. Squirrel is sad to have lost her friend, but she is comforted by Owl who tells her that Snowman is still with her in spirit.

Children who love bright colors, winter, and animals will delight in the story that combines these elements. The story is told through rhythmic text which will also appeal when read aloud. The overall message may not be as clear for younger readers, but it could spark some good discussions about loss of friends or people they care about. Notably, Snowman could come back in the future with the snow, so this could be better for non-permanent loss (e.g. when a friend moves away or when a summer camp ends); however, the book does not address if Snowman would return.

What I loved: The book is beautifully colored and illustrated, giving young children a lot to look at. There are many animals pictured also, which also appeals to young readers. The text has a lovely rhythm to it that makes reading it lovely. Considering that this could be good to use in situations of loss, this is a good tool for explaining about friends who must go away or change and celebrates the time had with them and the love shared.

What left me wanting more: As a relatively small point, it does seem weird to have Snowman melt when all of the animals are trying so hard to warm him up (almost sends an odd message), but on the surface, it is still a cute story.

Final verdict: With lovely illustrations and sweet forest animals, A WARM FRIENDSHIP celebrates love and giving with a seasonal friendship of Squirrel and Snowman. Recommend for elementary-aged readers who are experiencing change and loss of friendships, such as moving or switching schools/classes, as this can start great discussions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."