The Halloween Tree

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
623 0
The Halloween Tree
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 06, 2019
ISBN
978-1492673354
Buy This Book
      
A charming, funny, and warm-hearted picture book that will help to start a new tradition.

Everyone knows most young saplings dream of becoming Christmas trees. But one grumpy, old tree who doesn't like lights, decorations, or people is determined to be different. Get ready to meet The Halloween Tree!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

delightful Halloween book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Be prepared to start a new holiday tradition with THE HALLOWEEN TREE. On the Christmas tree lot, there is one sapling who isn't like the others and doesn't want to wear lights and be decorated for Christmas. As he thinks about those things, his greenery falls off and his branches twist. Soon, he is the last tree left, and a housing development springs up around him. Children from the houses love to play in his branches, making him a pirate ship, a spaceship, a dragon, and more.

The tree starts to realize he does like people- especially the children. When the parents talk about cutting it down, the children protest and decorate the tree for Halloween, starting a new tradition as they cheer "Trick or Tree!"

What I loved: There are some great underlying messages here about accepting others for who they are as well as feeling different and finding your own place (not needing to be like everyone else). The book is filled with lovely, colorful illustrations with some bonus details. For instance, there is a spider that falls in love with the tree (shown by hearts when it approaches first when the tree is a sapling) and then appears somewhere on the tree in every subsequent illustration. The spider has a happy ending cuddling up to one of the rubber spiders the children use to decorate the tree. While it isn't mentioned in the text, this story-within-the-illustrations is a lovely little bonus for children to find.

There is also great diversity in the children and parents depicted that I love to see. With the charismatic (albeit grouchy at first) tree gracing the pages, and the fun story, preschoolers will adore the story of THE HALLOWEEN TREE. This is a great seasonal read with broad appeal that will make you think more about the trees around.

Final verdict: Clever, adorable, and delightful, the story of THE HALLOWEEN TREE has great appeal for young readers, particularly preschool aged readers. Fantastic illustrations with fun details add to the fun of this seasonal to-be classic. Highly recommend for children who love Halloween and/or those who feel a little different.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Claire is a rich Chinese girl living the high life in Shanghai with both her parents even..."
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
"SISTER OF THE BOLLYWOOD BRIDE is an engaging YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and community with a dash of..."
On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."