Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)

Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
Age Range
Release Date
July 30, 2019
Buy This Book
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring a vampire girl, Amelia Fang. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares!

Amelia Fang would much rather hang out with her pet pumpkin Squashy and her friends Florence the yeti (DON'T CALL HER BEAST!) and Grimaldi the reaper than dance at her parents' annual Barbaric Ball.

Then the King's spoiled son Tangine captures Squashy, Amelia and her friends must escape the party to plan a daring rescue!

In their race against time, they begin to realize things in Nocturnia may not be quite what they seem...

Editor review

1 review
engaging middle grade fantasy
Overall rating
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series that features so-called creatures of the dark, e.g. yeti, grim reaper, vampires, as they go on quests and adventures together. Amelia Fang, a vampire, lives with her parents Countess Frivoleeta and Count Drake, who are planning this year's Barbaric Ball. Amelia is not at all excited to go.

At school, she meets a spoiled and rude prince, Tangine, who insists on calling her friend Florence, who is a rare breed of yeti, a beast at school. When she sees him again at dinner at her house where he and his father are guests, she is shocked to see that he gets whatever he wants- even when it is her pet, Squashy, a pumpkin. After he leaves with Squashy, Amelia employs the help of her friends to get him back.

In the process, she learns surprising truths about the prince's parents and also gives him another chance. The book also features illustrations on every spread (some full page and some half or smaller) that are really fantastically well drawn.

What I loved: The whole premise to this series is really cute, in the vein of Vampirina Ballerina, Hotel Transylvania, and others. Creatures of the dark are the main characters who fear the creatures of the light and glitter. However, these may be based on stereotypes which are not true, as Amelia begins to learn. Adding to that, this middle grade features lots of adventure/action, large font, and lots of delightful illustrations that make it ideal for new chapter book readers or reluctant middle grade readers. In terms of the plot, there's an interesting subtext about people (e.g. Tangine) who seem like bullies needing understanding and friendship, which is addressed a bit by the end.

What left me wanting more: Amelia's and Tangine's fathers are pretty much absentee parents, not really paying attention to their children or spouses or guests, and this was kind of sad but not really discussed. It would have been great to see this discussed more in the book, as absentee parents will sometimes feature in readers' lives. Also, her father describes his help with getting ready for the ball as putting his teacup in the sink (more than Amelia expected also), which is playing up some gendered stereotypes a bit much; however, maybe the absurdity of this will stick with young readers rather than the action/expectation itself.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute start to a new series which does a good job of introducing the characters. Recommend for reluctant or new chapter book readers who enjoy middle grade fantasy and plenty of delightful illustrations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account