Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
626 0
Amelia Fang and the Barbaric Ball (Amelia Fang, #1)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 30, 2019
ISBN
978-1984848390
Buy This Book
      
A hilarious illustrated middle grade series for reluctant readers starring a vampire girl, Amelia Fang. Welcome to the world of Nocturnia, where darkness reigns supreme, glitter is terrifying, and unicorns are the stuff of nightmares!

Amelia Fang would much rather hang out with her pet pumpkin Squashy and her friends Florence the yeti (DON'T CALL HER BEAST!) and Grimaldi the reaper than dance at her parents' annual Barbaric Ball.

Then the King's spoiled son Tangine captures Squashy, Amelia and her friends must escape the party to plan a daring rescue!

In their race against time, they begin to realize things in Nocturnia may not be quite what they seem...

Editor reviews

1 reviews

engaging middle grade fantasy
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
AMELIA FANG AND THE BARBARIC BALL is the first book in the Amelia Fang series, a fantasy/magical middle grade series that features so-called creatures of the dark, e.g. yeti, grim reaper, vampires, as they go on quests and adventures together. Amelia Fang, a vampire, lives with her parents Countess Frivoleeta and Count Drake, who are planning this year's Barbaric Ball. Amelia is not at all excited to go.

At school, she meets a spoiled and rude prince, Tangine, who insists on calling her friend Florence, who is a rare breed of yeti, a beast at school. When she sees him again at dinner at her house where he and his father are guests, she is shocked to see that he gets whatever he wants- even when it is her pet, Squashy, a pumpkin. After he leaves with Squashy, Amelia employs the help of her friends to get him back.

In the process, she learns surprising truths about the prince's parents and also gives him another chance. The book also features illustrations on every spread (some full page and some half or smaller) that are really fantastically well drawn.

What I loved: The whole premise to this series is really cute, in the vein of Vampirina Ballerina, Hotel Transylvania, and others. Creatures of the dark are the main characters who fear the creatures of the light and glitter. However, these may be based on stereotypes which are not true, as Amelia begins to learn. Adding to that, this middle grade features lots of adventure/action, large font, and lots of delightful illustrations that make it ideal for new chapter book readers or reluctant middle grade readers. In terms of the plot, there's an interesting subtext about people (e.g. Tangine) who seem like bullies needing understanding and friendship, which is addressed a bit by the end.

What left me wanting more: Amelia's and Tangine's fathers are pretty much absentee parents, not really paying attention to their children or spouses or guests, and this was kind of sad but not really discussed. It would have been great to see this discussed more in the book, as absentee parents will sometimes feature in readers' lives. Also, her father describes his help with getting ready for the ball as putting his teacup in the sink (more than Amelia expected also), which is playing up some gendered stereotypes a bit much; however, maybe the absurdity of this will stick with young readers rather than the action/expectation itself.

Final verdict: Overall, this is a cute start to a new series which does a good job of introducing the characters. Recommend for reluctant or new chapter book readers who enjoy middle grade fantasy and plenty of delightful illustrations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...
The Devil Makes Three
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
When Tess and Eliot stumble upon an ancient book hidden...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Liar's Room
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is...
Manu: A Graphic Novel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set at a magical school for girls, a funny and...
Barakah Beats
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic...
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle—twelve-year-old Young Lady of Quality and Victorian amateur detective—is...
How to Get Away with Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Myrtle Hardcastle has no desire to go on a relaxing...
Playing the Cards Your Dealt
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Kyle's Little Sister
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My name is Grace, not "Kyle's little sister!" ...
Ground Zero
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In time for the twentieth anniversary of 9/11, master storyteller...
Final Season
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player...
Sunny Makes a Splash (Sunny #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest in the New York Times bestselling Sunny series...
The Magical Reality of Nadia (The Magical Reality of Nadia #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the author's real life experiences, this rollicking, charming...
What Adults Don’t Know About Architecture: Inspiring young minds to build a more beautiful world
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children are rarely introduced properly to architecture, but there are...
The Curse of the Crystal Cavern (The Pathfinders Society #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fresh from their hair-raising adventures in The Mystery of the...

Latest Member Reviews

Gold Spun
 
4.8
"WHAT I LOVED: GOLD SPUN is a fairytale reimagining of Rumpelstiltskin. To ensure peace following the war between Faradisia..."
The Lost Alliance (The Nihryst Book 3)
 
4.8
"Once again, Cait has done it. I love that it is so easy to boost her works when she does..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."
All Last Summer
 
5.0
" A refreshing and sweet story. The story: Lila is trying to..."
My High School Valentine Boyfriend
 
4.5
"My High School Valentine Boyfriend is a swoony, sweet teen romance. Shay and Finn are matched to work together on..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"‘The First Holidays’ by Cait Marie is a sweet story of friendship and love. Readers will feel the warmth between..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
Moon & Shadow: A tale of Liamec (Tales of Liamec Book 1)
 
4.3
"Overall, This book was different from anything I've read in a while. It was more like a folktale which was..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
5.0
"I've honestly had my eye on this book for a while, and finally decided to pick it up. As the..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"When Aislinn and Catriona are taken into the fae realm, their fate falls into the hands of a broody prince/rightful..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.8
"The story: A Viking, Liv has earned her shield and is set to take her place as a shield..."
With Shield and Ink and Bone
 
4.5
"For those who can't get enough of Vikings, Norse Mythology, and kick-butt female leads, this one is for you. ..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"This short story is perfect for people who loved The Last Summer and for those excited for The Final Chance...."