Shake It Off! (Wish #8)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
365 0
Shake It Off! (Wish #8)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 30, 2019
ISBN
978-1338339291
Buy This Book
      
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about cousins, first crushes, and finding your place.

Bria Muller is stuck on her aunt and uncle's dairy farm for the summer, and she is not happy about it. Milking cows alongside her cousins Wren and Luke? No thanks.

The one thing she's good at is mixing up milk shakes in the creamery. Instead of their usual vanilla, she starts crafting towering, over-the-top shakes like the ones she loved sipping back home in Chicago. Wren, and most of the customers, aren't impressed. Everyone seems to think Bria is just a snobby city girl.

There is one person who appreciates the sweet, cold treats: Gabe, her cousins' cute friend who helps out on the farm. But with the family business in danger of being sold, can Bria's shakes make a difference . . . and will she ever fit into country life?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Creative Milk Shakes
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided to pack her off to spend the summer helping out on her aunt's farm in Iowa with her cousins. Since Bria doesn't find farm life as interesting as fashion, and doesn't get along terribly well with Wren, she has a rough start. She doesn't want to muck out stalls or even help in the dairy's diner, and is so unhelpful that her aunt finally tells her to go back to the house and stay out of the way. This is great for a couple of days, but Bria eventually becomes bored and feels guilty that she is not helping out when the rest of the family is working so hard. She also wants to spend more time with Gabe, whose family owns a nearby farm. Bria does make an effort at the diner, and creates a spectacular milk shake similar to those available at her favorite shop in the city, but the locals want to stick to plain vanilla. Undeterred, Bria eventually brings her cousins and aunts around to the idea of the fancy shakes. Will they be enough to keep her aunt and uncle from selling off the farm?
Good Points
Farm life is difficult; my mother's family had a dairy farm that did home deliveries and at its height sold ice cream, cottage cheese and oddly, juice jugs. It's good to see a book that portrays the love of farm life many people feel but balances it with the realities or modern economics.

The Wish books are hugely popular in my library, in part because of the great convergence of food and romance. There are recipes for some of Bria's shakes at the back, as well as tips on how to construct them. I've never seen these in a restaurant, but they are intriguing, even if the one of the cover probably contains enough calories for me for an entire week! Hand this titles to readers who enjoyed Atwood's Ice Cream Summer, Simon's Sprinkle Sundaes series, Lisa Schroeder's It's Raining Cupcakes or other books where the main characters have business interests that revolve around food!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...

Latest Member Reviews

Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
3.0
"LOKI: WHERE MISCHIEF LIES tells a new story of teen Loki, before all the big battles and intergalactic feuds with..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION is an incredible new YA fantasy that combines a dark mystery, magic, and romance/love into a gorgeous,..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"REFRACTION is a highly readable/devourable book that is certainly a page-turner. In the post-apocalyptic future, a small island appears to..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"hi :) bross :)"
Fan the Fame
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: Excuse me, who gave Anna Priemaza permission to bug my house and use my brother and I..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Serpent & Dove
 
4.0
"I’d been hearing about this book on Bookstagram, BookTube, and BookTwitter as an anticipated release for September 2019. And then..."
Stalking Jack the Ripper
 
5.0
"I have no words….well, that’s a lie. I have lots of words. Just where to start?! Stalking Jack the Ripper..."