The Halloweeners (Monsterstreet #2)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
211 0
The Halloweeners (Monsterstreet #2)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 02, 2019
ISBN
978-0062869371
Buy This Book
      
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books are my kind of fun. I want to live on Monsterstreet!” —R.L. Stine, author of the Goosebumps series

Trick-or-treat turns to scare-or-scream in this second installment of Monsterstreet, the chilling middle grade series. When Fisher’s friends are transformed into their monstrous costumes on Halloween night, it’s up to him to save the town!

Halloween isn’t just Fisher’s favorite holiday—it’s his obsession. So when he’s invited to join the Halloweeners, he couldn’t be more thrilled.

While trying to help them win the town’s annual trick-or-treating competition, the Halloweeners stumble upon a mysterious cauldron at an old haunted house. After eating the irresistible candy inside it, Fisher’s new friends are all transformed into the monsters of their costumes!

Now it’s up to Fisher to help return his friends to their human forms by sunrise or else they’ll be doomed to remain monsters . . . forever.

Don't miss any of the books in the thrilling Monsterstreet series!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Monster Mash!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
When Fisher’s parents get a divorce, he finds himself with his mom back in her hometown. Even though he wants to make friends, his mom tells him their stay is only temporary. After meeting fellow Halloween lovers, Fisher feels like he’s right where he belongs. He’s asked to join a group called the Halloweeners but first he must prove himself. He has to help them win the annual trick or treat competition.

Since his mom grounded him, Fisher has to sneak around and is stuck being a ghost using a sheet. Out of fear of losing to the Pumpkinheads, the Halloweeners need to step up their game. They visit a house that’s said to once be inhabited by a witch. Here, they find a candy bar and the temptation is too much. Fisher’s three new friends stuff their faces, but he manages to resist.

After eating the bars, the three boys start going through a monstrous change and become the very monsters they’re portraying. They start to wreak havoc on the town and it’s up to Fisher to change them back before it becomes permanent. He finds an unlikely ally and uncovers secrets about the previous Halloweeners.

This is the second book in the Monsterstreet series and I enjoyed it just as much as the first. I love the Goosebumps vibe it gives me and it’s getting me pumped for the fall season. I love how these stories are creepy, but not so much that it’ll give children nightmares.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of horror, monsters, R.L. Stine, and friendship.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."