Oscar the Octopus: A Book About the Months of the Year

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
588 0
Oscar the Octopus: A Book About the Months of the Year
Age Range
2+
Release Date
August 27, 2019
ISBN
978-1534452374
Buy This Book
      
From #1 New York Times bestselling novelty creator Matthew Van Fleet comes an exciting book that teaches little ones the months of the year!

Join Oscar as he introduces preschoolers to the months of the year, texture, colors, and fascinating sea creatures. The cleverly textured pages will tickle fingertips and funny bones while revealing clues to what Oscar will catch next from a shiny friend to a surprise pop-up ending!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

delightful fun for toddlers and preschoolers
(Updated: August 06, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
OSCAR THE OCTOPUS is an absolutely delightful journey through the months. There are a lot of elements (touch-and-feel, lift-the-flap, pop-up, etc.) combining perfectly in this story to make it a toddler book paradise. Each page features a month with weather descriptions and those of a sea creature which is found behind a flap AND with a touchable part. For instance, in March, Oscar the Octopus grabs/catches a shark with a scratchy tail, which is touchable and actually scratchy!

Toddlers will absolutely laugh at the structures they can touch. For example, young readers will find the sticky cuttlefish, which is actually quite sticky, quite comical. Not only does the book feature each of the months of the year, but it also has a bunch of sea creatures that children will love to identify and feel. With the added bonus of lift-the-flaps on each page and a pop-up image at the end, this book combines everything toddlers and preschoolers love in a book that is simply charming and fun.

What I loved: The whole concept of this book is just adorable. Oscar catches a new sea creature in each month- until December when he catches a cold and needs a tissue, so he lets everyone go! Toddlers will love exploring not only the hide-and-seek concept of the flaps but also with touch, as each sea creature has a limb or part that is textured (scratchy, slick, bumpy, furry, etc.). The text is also rhyming, which appeals to children and adds a lovely melody when read aloud. Combining that with the cartoonish and fun animals, and this book is certainly a win! Ideal for toddlers and preschoolers, this book will be quickly loved and enjoyed.

Final verdict: OSCAR THE OCTOPUS teaches about the months of the year in this masterful work which combines everything toddlers love into a comical and lyrical book. Highly recommend for any and all toddlers/preschoolers. Be prepared for lots of giggles and repeated reading of this charming book which is chock full of things to explore!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."