One More Hug

One More Hug
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
November 12, 2019
ISBN
978-1534429710
Buy This Book
      
From Inside Edition’s national correspondent Megan Alexander comes a heartwarming picture book in the tradition of The Wonderful Things You Will Be that shows us there’s always time for one more hug as a young boy starts his day and his journey through life.

A tree branch tapping on a window, a pretend sword breaking in two, the skreeeetch of a school bus door: one more hug by mom is always needed to comfort and reassure a young boy that he has the inner confidence to carry on. As time passes, and he outgrows his childhood fears, he returns the favor by giving his mother one more hug as he goes on his way.

This timeless tale of unconditional love and comfort for an anxious young boy as he leaves the nest and starts his journey through life is a perfect story for mothers to share with their sons to show them that it’s okay to have fears and needs—even as they get older—and it’s okay to share those feelings with the people who love them.

Editor review

1 review
gorgeous book about parental love
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Charming, sweet, and lovely, ONE MORE HUG is a beautiful book to be shared between mother and son and parents and child. Told in vignettes over time, a toddler asks for one more hug when scared and one more kiss when sad which turns into a child asking for the same but with different causes and finally the little boy is all grown up and leaving. As the mother thinks about how much she loves him, he returns to give her the comfort of one more hug.

What I loved: The illustrations in the book are absolutely gorgeous, fully capturing the plot and then some. The story line is easily relatable by parents who know the bittersweet feelings of children growing up- but help to connect them in love by the experience of hugs, kisses, and squeezes that are shared along the way.

The book is perfect for sharing with toddlers, preschoolers, and elementary schoolers- and then when fully grown for children to share with their parents in turn. This book would be the perfect gift for a son to give their mother when they graduate or move out- accompanied, of course, by at least one more hug.

Final verdict: Lovely, precious, and so sweet, parents should be prepared to tear up as they share this gorgeous book with their little ones and experience the joys and bittersweet experiences of having a child grow up with all the hugs, kisses, and squeezes to enjoy along the way. Highly recommend for anyone who is looking for a book about life and parent-child love (especially mother-son) in the vein of THE WONDERFUL THINGS YOU WILL BE, YOU MADE ME A DAD, and/or YOU MADE ME A MOTHER.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account