Jack and the Beanstalk (Storytime Lap Books)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
333 0
Jack and the Beanstalk (Storytime Lap Books)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
2+
Release Date
July 16, 2019
ISBN
978-1465482792
Buy This Book
      
This traditional fairy tale remains a favorite with parents looking for a children's classics to read with their little one.

When Jack sells his cow for a handful of magic beans, he doesn't expect a huge beanstalk to grow outside his window! Join Jack as he goes on an exciting and magical adventure up to the top the towering beanstalk and discovers a hungry giant, a golden goose, and a magical harp.

The charming illustrations by Giuseppe Di Lernia in this picture book are sure to capture the imaginations of little ones, and the large format of this book is ideal for sharing with children aged 3 to 5 and reading together at bedtime. Children won't be able to stop themselves from joining in as the giant repeatedly shouts, "Fe-fi-fo-fum. I smell the blood of an Englishman!"

Editor reviews

1 reviews

beautiful rendition of a classic fairy tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
JACK AND THE BEANSTALK uses accessible language, colorful cartoonish images, and oversized board book pages to bring this classic fairytale to preschoolers. This book follows the past stories of Jack and the magic beanstalk very closely, staying true to the originals. Jack and his mother are poor with only their cow for milk. When the cow stops producing, Jack must go and sell the cow to afford food.

Jack ends up selling to an old man who offers him a handful of beans. When Jack comes home, his mother is upset and throws the beans outside. It rains overnight, and a beanstalk grows. When Jack climbs it, he finds a huge castle- and the giant who lives there. The giant looks for him but cannot find where Jack hides. When the giant falls asleep, Jack steals a bag of gold. Later, Jack returns and steals a goose who lays gold eggs and then a magical golden harp. The harp wakes the giant, and he follows Jack down the beanstalk- until Jack chops it down and the giant falls. Jack and his mother live happily ever after.

The book itself is large with many full page illustrations that are full of colors. The words are printed in a large and clear font, which is great for adults who read aloud and/or young children who are learning to read. The text itself contains simple words, which are easy for toddlers and preschoolers to understand. Jack and his mother's emotions are also described in the book, which helps with children's comprehension.

Although the implication is that the giant dies at the end, this is not stated outright which is appropriate for the age group. There is also a good amount of dialogue, which allows readers to do voices to entertain their little ones.

For parents who love the classics and easy to read books, this new edition is a delightful one to share with young children who will understand the text and enjoy the lovely images that cover each page.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."