Jack and the Beanstalk (Storytime Lap Books)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
368 0
Jack and the Beanstalk (Storytime Lap Books)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
2+
Release Date
July 16, 2019
ISBN
978-1465482792
Buy This Book
      
This traditional fairy tale remains a favorite with parents looking for a children's classics to read with their little one.

When Jack sells his cow for a handful of magic beans, he doesn't expect a huge beanstalk to grow outside his window! Join Jack as he goes on an exciting and magical adventure up to the top the towering beanstalk and discovers a hungry giant, a golden goose, and a magical harp.

The charming illustrations by Giuseppe Di Lernia in this picture book are sure to capture the imaginations of little ones, and the large format of this book is ideal for sharing with children aged 3 to 5 and reading together at bedtime. Children won't be able to stop themselves from joining in as the giant repeatedly shouts, "Fe-fi-fo-fum. I smell the blood of an Englishman!"

Editor reviews

1 reviews

beautiful rendition of a classic fairy tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
JACK AND THE BEANSTALK uses accessible language, colorful cartoonish images, and oversized board book pages to bring this classic fairytale to preschoolers. This book follows the past stories of Jack and the magic beanstalk very closely, staying true to the originals. Jack and his mother are poor with only their cow for milk. When the cow stops producing, Jack must go and sell the cow to afford food.

Jack ends up selling to an old man who offers him a handful of beans. When Jack comes home, his mother is upset and throws the beans outside. It rains overnight, and a beanstalk grows. When Jack climbs it, he finds a huge castle- and the giant who lives there. The giant looks for him but cannot find where Jack hides. When the giant falls asleep, Jack steals a bag of gold. Later, Jack returns and steals a goose who lays gold eggs and then a magical golden harp. The harp wakes the giant, and he follows Jack down the beanstalk- until Jack chops it down and the giant falls. Jack and his mother live happily ever after.

The book itself is large with many full page illustrations that are full of colors. The words are printed in a large and clear font, which is great for adults who read aloud and/or young children who are learning to read. The text itself contains simple words, which are easy for toddlers and preschoolers to understand. Jack and his mother's emotions are also described in the book, which helps with children's comprehension.

Although the implication is that the giant dies at the end, this is not stated outright which is appropriate for the age group. There is also a good amount of dialogue, which allows readers to do voices to entertain their little ones.

For parents who love the classics and easy to read books, this new edition is a delightful one to share with young children who will understand the text and enjoy the lovely images that cover each page.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."