Save Your Friends!

Save Your Friends!
Author(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
July 02, 2019
ISBN
978-0062683151
Buy This Book
      
This laugh-out-loud adventure encourages family sharing and is a perfect pick for fans of Deborah Diesen’s The Pout-Pout Fish and Adam Rubin’s Dragons Love Tacos.

Help! There is a shark in the water, and he’s eating all your friends! Only you can save them from being swallowed whole. How? Turn the page and find out! This funny story about a playground bully, friendship, and empathy will have kids laughing along as they hurry to save their friends (all marine animals) from the shark’s dangerous jaws. And in the end, readers learn why the shark is acting so rudely in the first place!

Hyewon Kyung’s Save Your Friends! has an unusual, lively concept; a surprise ending; humorous illustrations; and a simple, repetitive text that is presented in conversation bubbles. Save Your Friends! makes reading fun and is a great choice for emerging readers, story time, and anyone who loves to learn about sharks.

Editor review

1 review
interactive page-turning picture book
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends, and you can save them by turning the page. The text tends to be fairly repetitive, along the lines of asking for help/to be saved and then thanking the reader on the next page as another sea creature asks for help. The images are simple but with fun animals.

What I loved: The interactive nature of the book is really strong, and young children will enjoy responding by turning the page. There are a variety of sea creatures pictured, which is also fun if parents can supply the information about the fish and other animals pictured. The end of the book features some shark facts, which adds an educational component to the book.

What left me wanting more: I would have liked some other information about the sea creatures featured throughout. For instance, an overhead text that names the animals and gives a fact, just to add an educational component, would have been cool to see. However, as is, it is still a fluffy and interactive book.

Final verdict: For children who love books like ARE YOU MY MOTHER? and THE MONSTER AT THE END OF THE BOOK, this is a fun and interactive book featuring a shark and the sea creatures it wants to eat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account