Save Your Friends!

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
203 0
Save Your Friends!
Author(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
July 02, 2019
ISBN
978-0062683151
Buy This Book
      
This laugh-out-loud adventure encourages family sharing and is a perfect pick for fans of Deborah Diesen’s The Pout-Pout Fish and Adam Rubin’s Dragons Love Tacos.

Help! There is a shark in the water, and he’s eating all your friends! Only you can save them from being swallowed whole. How? Turn the page and find out! This funny story about a playground bully, friendship, and empathy will have kids laughing along as they hurry to save their friends (all marine animals) from the shark’s dangerous jaws. And in the end, readers learn why the shark is acting so rudely in the first place!

Hyewon Kyung’s Save Your Friends! has an unusual, lively concept; a surprise ending; humorous illustrations; and a simple, repetitive text that is presented in conversation bubbles. Save Your Friends! makes reading fun and is a great choice for emerging readers, story time, and anyone who loves to learn about sharks.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

interactive page-turning picture book
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
SAVE YOUR FRIENDS! is a simple, interactive story told in speech bubbles. The shark is about to eat your friends, and you can save them by turning the page. The text tends to be fairly repetitive, along the lines of asking for help/to be saved and then thanking the reader on the next page as another sea creature asks for help. The images are simple but with fun animals.

What I loved: The interactive nature of the book is really strong, and young children will enjoy responding by turning the page. There are a variety of sea creatures pictured, which is also fun if parents can supply the information about the fish and other animals pictured. The end of the book features some shark facts, which adds an educational component to the book.

What left me wanting more: I would have liked some other information about the sea creatures featured throughout. For instance, an overhead text that names the animals and gives a fact, just to add an educational component, would have been cool to see. However, as is, it is still a fluffy and interactive book.

Final verdict: For children who love books like ARE YOU MY MOTHER? and THE MONSTER AT THE END OF THE BOOK, this is a fun and interactive book featuring a shark and the sea creatures it wants to eat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Brea Robinson is a murderer. That’s what everyone tells...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning...

Latest Member Reviews

Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."
Action Presidents #1: George Washington!
 
4.0
"That story about chopping down the cherry tree that has been trotted out a million times and made into thousands..."
The Ocean in Your Bathtub
 
4.0
"THE OCEAN IN YOUR BATHTUB is an informative picture book about how we interact with the ocean, often without realizing..."
Nelson Mandela
 
5.0
"NELSON MANDELA is a biographical picture book about Nelson Mandela. The book features a poem to describe the basics of..."
Nonsense! The Curious Story of Edward Gorey
 
5.0
"NONSENSE! THE CURIOUS STORY OF EDWARD GOREY is a fantastic biography in the form of poetry and images that are..."
I (Heart) Art: The Work We Love from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
 
4.7
"This beautiful little book highlights famous artwork from the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. Categorized into themes of..."
Rescuing the Declaration of Independence: How We Almost Lost the Words That Built America
 
5.0
"RESCUING THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE takes place during the War of 1812. In 1814, the British invade Washington. James Monroe,..."
Baby Paleontologist (Baby Scientist)
 
5.0
"BABY PALEONTOLOGIST teaches about the different things a paleontologist does. It explains how they dig for fossils and how each..."
Thump Goes the Rabbit: How Animals Communicate (Let's-Read-and-Find-Out Science 1)
 
5.0
"THUMP GOES THE RABBIT teaches about the different ways animals communicate besides just their voice. For example, rabbits thump their..."
Doggy Defenders: Stella the Search Dog
 
5.0
"Do you have an inquisitive child who loves animals? If you answered yes, then they will love this book! Doggy..."
Doggy Defenders: Tiger the Police Dog
 
5.0
"Do you have a child interested in being a policeman? Then they will love this book! In the new series..."
Doggy Defenders: Willow the Therapy Dog
 
5.0
"Can a dog provide therapy? What kind of therapy? Find the answers to these questions and more in National Geographic..."
Doggy Defenders: Dolley the Fire Dog
 
5.0
"Is your child interested in being a firefighter? Do they love dogs? Then this book is for them! Doggy Defenders..."
 
5.0
"What a wonderful story. The world - young and old -- know C.S. Lewis most than they know most..."
Rest & Relax: Sleepy Time for Little Ones (Mindful Tots)
 
4.3
"REST & RELAX is a great book that presents a form of mindfulness or meditation for little ones. This book..."