Cece Loves Science and Adventure

Cece Loves Science and Adventure
Age Range
4+
Release Date
June 04, 2019
ISBN
9780062499622
Cece loves science and adventure!

In this STEM-themed picture book, the second in a series, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin.

Illustrated by New York Times–bestseller Vashti Harrison, the Cece Loves Science books are perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and anyone who enjoys asking questions and figuring out how things work. “A good introduction to observation, data, and trying again,” said Kirkus Reviews of the first book in the series.

Cece loves being an Adventure Girl almost as much as she loves science, which is why she can’t wait for her troop’s camping trip. Nature is full of science for Cece to explore!

Along with her friends, her mom, and her dog, Einstein, Cece learns how to pitch a tent, set up a campsite, and document landmarks on the trail. Then thunder booms in the distance! Working together, the girls use meteorology and math to determine the location of the storm; engineering to build a shelter; and technology and math to calculate the length of the trek back to the campsite. After all that teamwork, Cece’s mom gives them an Adventure Girl surprise!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, author and illustrator of the New York Times–bestselling Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History, Cece Loves Science and Adventure is just right for curious kids and anyone who loves to explore the great outdoors. Includes a glossary.

Editor review

1 review
Science Book!!
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Books about girls who love science are always winners!

Cece and her friends are trying to win their adventure badges so they pack everything they can and head out on a camping trip with their mom. Once there, they do the typical things like setting up tents and going on nature hikes, but problems occur at every step and Cece figures out how to solve them. Nothing is easy on this trip, but this little girl uses her love for science to make it perfect.
Cece is adorable. Any kid reading this will want to be on the adventure with her. I love the science tidbits sprinkled throughout and then the science facts in the back of the book.
It's beautifully illustrated, making the camping grounds jump off the page. There really isn't a thing about this book not to like.

Final Verdict: A super well-done story about a girl and her love for science that will have any kid enthralled with the adventure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account