Stay

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
572 0
Stay
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 13, 2019
ISBN
0062839225
Buy This Book
      
Piper’s life is turned upside down when her family moves into a shelter in a whole new city. She misses her house, her friends, and her privacy—and she hates being labeled the homeless girl at her new school.

But while Hope House offers her new challenges, it also brings new friendships, like the girls in Firefly Girls Troop 423 and a sweet street dog named Baby. So when Baby’s person goes missing, Piper knows she has to help. But helping means finding the courage to trust herself and her new friends, no matter what anyone says about them—before Baby gets taken away for good.

Told in alternating perspectives, this classic and heartfelt animal tale proclaims the importance of hope, the power of story, and the true meaning of home.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Timely social issues... and dogs.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Piper's family has moved around a lot recently since her father is out of work. They've stayed with relatives, but have generally stayed in warm places-- Louisiana, Florida, Texas. Now, the family has landed in Idaho in a homeless shelter. Piper is embarrassed and not happy that her father has to stay in the men's shelter apart from them. Still, there are lots of things to be done to settle in, and the family sets up their rooms, finds a Community Kitchen for their meals, and get Piper enrolled in school. During their travels, they see a woman living on the streets with a small dog, and Piper is immediately drawn to Baby. Jewel is older and in poor health, and often confused, but other people help watch out for her, including Ree, who also has a dog. When Jewel is hospitalized, Baby is left alone. Ree takes care of her, and gives Piper and her father Jewel's knapsack for safekeeping. There is a Firefly Girl group that has meetings at Hope House, and Piper is glad for a familiar activity with other girls who are in similar circumstances. She befriends Karina, who also goes to her school, and finds a place to sit at lunch where she feels comfortable. She tries to visit Baby as often as possible, and she and her friends try to piece together some information about Jewell so they can get her the help she needs. They eventually find out that Jewel struggled with mental issues that required medication, and was on her way to stay with her sister in a pet friendly senior facility in Boise. With the help of the Firefly Girls' cookie fundraiser, money is raised to send Jewel and Baby to Boise. Piper's family is slowly getting back on their feet, and she is glad that she was able to help someone else.
Good Points
Piper's family is down on their luck, but still positive and working to make their lives better. The realities of living in a shelter, especially when other kids at school know you do, are unflinchingly portrayed, and reading about Piper's struggles will hopefully make children more empathetic. Jewel's journey to living on the streets with her beloved dog is also described in a way that shows how close many people are to being homeless-- just a small series of set backs can be all it takes. The community of homeless dog lovers is especially fascinating. This was just a well-written story with a fantastic combination of ingredients. Combined with the cover, it will circulate as well as Nielsen's No Fixed Address, which has been a runaway favorite in my library.

The one difficult part in the book was the Firefly Girls' cookie sale. Fund raisers are hard on any child, but seem like a bad idea with children living in a homeless shelter. It was fantastic to see them be willing to donate the money to someone less fortunate, though.

Like Bauer's Almost Home (2012), this will see steady circulation because it is interesting, fast paced, and still somehow heart-wrenching. Excellent book with such an appealing cover. There have been a number of books recently involving children dealing with homelessness, including Messner's The Exact Location of Home, Stevenson's Lizzie Flying Solo and Sarno's Just Under the Clouds as well as the Young Adult Roam by Armstrong. These books are a great way for readers to understand the difficulties some of their classmates may face and to build empathy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."