Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go on a Class Trip (Two Dogs in a Trench Coat #3)

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
76 0
Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go on a Class Trip (Two Dogs in a Trench Coat #3)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
May 28, 2019
ISBN
978-1338189551
Buy This Book
      
Sassy and Waldo are good dogs about to be let loose on their first class trip!

Sassy and Waldo love trips!

When they put on their trench coat, everyone thinks they're a human kid named Salty.

They can go to all the places that don't let dogs in. Like school. And the museum.

Stewart says the museum is all facts and learning. He is not excited to go there.

But Sassy and Waldo have a permission slip that says lunch on it.

How can a trip to a place with lunch be bad?

Sassy and Waldo are very excited for their class trip.

And that's before they find out about the giant bones.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Dinosaur Bones!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Library copy



Sassy and Waldo are super excited to go to the city museum (even though their boy, Stewart, is tired of going every year. But there be more than two lunches, possibly, so how can this go wrong? Ms. Twohey gives everyone a lot of rules to follow, and says that there will be an ice cream party if people are well behaved, so "Salty" is on his very best behavior, even if he occasionally doesn't understand things because "I am from Liver, Ohio!" The museum tour does get a bit boring, but not after the dogs decide to take off on their own, with a few of the students, and give a tour of their own that includes noshing on moon boots, lounging on tapestries, seeing the Squirreltown exhibit, and eating at the cafeteria. Eventually, their shenanigans are found out, but explained away, and everyone heads back to school, leaving the kerfuzzled guards to clean up the piles of fur.
Good Points
Why do you need to read these immediately and buy copies for any children in your life, especially if there are long car trips in their future? Here's why (pages 119-120):

"Hi!... This is the beef bowl station. Do you want a beef bowl for lunch?"
"I have never wanted anything more in my entire life," said Waldo, who was drooling slightly.

"What size do you want?" asked the lady.

"The largest possible size," said Waldo...

"Do you want cheese sauce on your beef bowl?"
Waldo had to lean against the sneeze guard to steady himself. It was too much. He was feeling faint.

"Yes, cheese," he said. "

Aside from this snort-through-your-nose writing style, there are Colin Jacks fun illustrations showing "Salty" navigating the museum in his trench coat. I love that absolute everyone is completely oblivious that Waldo and Sassy are dogs, especially since they are so obsessed with lunch and squirrels! I'm definitely looking forward to more adventures, although I hope that they include Stewart's delightgul, office supply obsessed parents!

I swear, Ms. Falatko has gotten inside my dog's head and replicates her every thought. So funny! Make sure you read Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Go to School and Two Dogs in a Trench Coat Start a Club by Accident. This is a great series for readers who like Watson's Stick Dog books, Barnett's Mac B.: Spy Kid series, and any humorous notebook style novel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Could you fall in love with a robot? ...

Latest Member Reviews

All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
"RULES FOR VANISHING is a deliciously haunting YA horror perfect for Halloween. Told through collected documents, interviews, and texts, this..."
What Makes Us
 
5.0
"WHAT MAKES US is an intriguing story that follows a teenaged boy, his mother (in the past), and his friend..."
Serpent & Dove
 
5.0
"Lou is on the run from her family and she lives a thieving life with her friend Coco. Both of..."
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
"BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is an engaging contemporary YA that presents some issues very well. The writing is in a..."
On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
 
4.7
"Sam Jones and Zoe Miller are seniors in high school, but they've never had a reason to communicate during their..."
 
4.7
"Michigan Manning just wants to play hockey. Unfortunately, the high school she attends in the upper peninsula of Michigan has..."
When You Ask Me Where I'm Going
 
5.0
"WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING is an absolutely gorgeous collection that reaches to touch the soul. In poems,..."
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
"A MATCH MADE IN MEHENDI is a light-hearted contemporary romance. Simi aspires to be an artist, but right now, she's..."