August Isle

August Isle
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 16, 2019
ISBN
978-0062433411
Buy This Book
      
From critically acclaimed author Ali Standish (The Ethan I Was Before), the story of one girl’s journey to a magical seaside town, where she uncovers her family’s long hidden secrets and ultimately finds truth and redemption.

Fans of Sharon Creech and Rebecca Stead will be captivated by this story filled with warm humor, mystery, whimsy, and characters you can’t let go. A modern classic in the making!

For years, Miranda has stared at postcards of August Isle, Florida. The town where her mother spent her summers as a girl. The town that Miranda has always ached to visit. She just never wanted it to happen this way.

When she arrives on the Isle, alone and uncertain, to stay the summer with an old friend of her mother’s, Miranda discovers a place even more perfect than she imagined. And she finds a new friend in Sammy, “Aunt” Clare’s daughter.

But there is more to August Isle than its bright streets and sandy beaches, and soon Miranda is tangled in a web of mysteries. A haunted lighthouse. An old seafarer with something to hide. A name reaching out from her mother’s shadowy past.

As she closes in on answers, Miranda must reckon with the biggest question of all: Is she brave enough to face the truth she might uncover?

Editor review

1 review
Mysterious and Emotional Read.
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Miranda has always wanted to go to August Isle after hearing about it from her mom, but she always imagined she would be accompanied by her mom. With her parents busy at work, Miranda is sent to spend a month in August Isle with her mom's friend Clare. Even with the disappointment of her mom's absence, Miranda makes a friend in Clare's daughter, Sameera.

As Miranda tries to discover the secrets of August Isle, she realizes that it has more mysteries than she imagined. She discovers a local "haunted house", tries to find ties to her mom, and wonders what's in the lighthouse that Aunt Clare wants them to avoid. In the end, Miranda discovers friendship with Sameera and learns more about herself and how she feels about her relationship with her mom.

AUGUST ILSE will pull at all of your heart strings and it had me crying at some parts. I felt bad for Miranda who wanted to discover August Isle with her mom. I love Sameera's character and the friendship that develops between her and Miranda. Miranda is a relatable character and the mysteries within the story will keep the reader turning pages.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this book to fans of mysteries, friendship, emotional stories that make you cry, and a good middle grade read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account