TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)

 
4.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1006 0
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 08, 2019
ISBN
978-0062689962
Buy This Book
      
Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell.

Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can’t wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they’re already making plans for the best summer ever—including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook.

But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece’s most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it’s no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama—even if that means taking a break from her best friends.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Drama vs. Compassion
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and diary entries. Main characters Cece, Gabby, and Prianka are excited for Spirit Week, for which there is a week-long calendar presented at the beginning of the book. It is a handy way to know the book is staying on track and keeping readers invested in what is on deck for the next event.

Summer break is around the corner and the girls are eager to plan their time together. Somehow, though, in predictable fashion (the book is called 'TBH, Too Much Drama,' after all), a secret gets revealed that has Cece wondering just how she'll escape the embarrassment and torment that she is sure will befall her.

Best friends, games, food, community service, and more make up Spirit Week at Yorkville Middle School. Cece, Gabby, Prianka, Victoria, and some other friends use the week to try to come to terms with the end of the year, what's coming next, and the secrets that some of them fear will tear them apart. There is plenty of drama to go around, but also plenty of growth, truth, kindness, and compassion from a group of middle school students who often surprise themselves and each other by showing their worries are unfounded and that life can be much simpler if you take the time to just be yourself.
Good Points
There is plenty of drama to go around, but also plenty of growth, truth, kindness, and compassion from a group of middle school students who often surprise themselves and each other by showing their worries are unfounded and that life can be much simpler if you take the time to just be yourself.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
approachable contemporary middle grade
(Updated: April 23, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
TBH, TOO MUCH DRAMA is a short book that primarily takes place over texts, but also has some emails, essays, journal articles, and passed notes. The core BFFs, Cece, Gabby, and Prianka are excited for the end of their middle school year. They are also carrying their worries in their group messages. Mainly, they are nervous about turning in their school computers which may have some personal data, bra shopping with their mothers, and memes they created that have gone viral and hurt the people they referred to. Some of the girls are also dealing with crushes- and one with something more challenging- her crush is on another girl.

What I loved: The fun format moves quickly and readers can quickly engage with the unique style of the book. With the plotlines included, this is a great and thought-provoking book for the middle grade audience. For instance, when we do things we think are funny (like memes), do we consider the consequences? It also shows how easily/quickly something like that can go viral. There’s also some good diversity amongst the girls who are budding into adolescence, and this also carries some helpful messages for preteens.

What left me wanting more: The challenge in reading this book is that a lot of it is in emojis and textspeak (abbreviations). While I knew most of them, there were a couple that had me flipping to the key at the end, which breaks up the flow of the book. This is a minor thing, as I assume the middle grade audience will know all of these even more quickly than I did.

Final verdict: This fast middle grade read is perfect for young audiences who will relate to the problems of the best friends and give pause as to what we put out there in the virtual world. With some other great themes (LGBT, personal reflections), this book speaks to middle grade readers in a highly approachable way. Great for people looking for unique formats and fun contemporary fiction.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera Cass....
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. ...
The Safekeeper
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
58 Farm End
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...
The Connection
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is...
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gentle metaphor for understanding and processing anxiety and sadness....
The Brass Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She knows a liar when she sees one. ...
The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...
Wylder and the Almost Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget the boy...
Wylder and the Secret Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget your summer...

Latest Member Reviews

All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
"ALL THE TIDES OF FATE picks up Amora's story a season or two after the previous book ended. She is..."
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Mila has just graduated from high school and aged out of the foster care program. So when a job..."
American Royals II: Majesty
 
3.7
"With her father gone, Beatrice must step into her role as queen. To do this, she has to let her..."
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
The Cerulean
 
3.3
"THE CERULEAN is an intriguing start to a YA fantasy duology. The book begins with Sera, a Cerulean who has..."
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
"TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND is an enchanting, haunting, and deliciously creepy collection of fairytales. Completely new and unlike anything I..."
You Owe Me a Murder
 
3.0
" *Connor is Deaf and has implants *Alex has light brown skin..."
Across the Green Grass Fields
 
4.7
"I love the Wayward Children series, and the latest installment, ACROSS THE GREEN GRASS FIELDS, is no exception. Here are..."
DEV1AT3
 
4.7
"Feedback What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I..."