Hush, Little Bunny

Hush, Little Bunny
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
January 22, 2019
ISBN
978-0062845221
Buy This Book
      
Hush, Little Bunny is a heartwarming, lyrical love letter from a papa bunny to his little one—from David Ezra Stein, Caldecott Honor-winning creator of Interrupting Chicken and Leaves. Fans of Kevin Henkes and Beatrix Potter will adore this gorgeous book.

Come, little bunny, don’t be shy . . .

“Hush Little Baby” is a lullaby that parents have sung to their children for generations. Now Caldecott Honor winner David Ezra Stein has reimagined the classic featuring an irresistible papa bunny and his little one.

This new classic is the perfect gift for Easter, baby showers, Father's Day, and all year long.

Editor review

1 review
gorgeous celebration of father/parenthood
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a beautifully reimagined version of the song, “Hush, Little Baby.” Featuring a papa bunny and his baby, the papa bunny takes care of his baby around the meadow. The poetic prose suits the music perfectly, and read or sung, this is sure to be enjoyed by parents and their little ones. With gorgeous illustrations, papa bunny and baby bunny’s story is sure to enchant readers.

What I loved: I always love to see stories about fathers and their children in literature that appeals to toddlers, and this is an absolutely delightful example. Papa bunny could easily be any parent taking care of, cheering, and protecting their young one, but it is lovely to have the fatherhood connection. Add that to the soft and beautiful pictures, and this is designed to be a classic for the ages. The book is written perfectly for the “Hush, Little Baby” tune, but it is still absolutely fantastic when read without singing with the rhyming phrases.

Together, papa and baby bunny face the weather, other bunnies not playing fair, and all the delights of spring. Written in lyrical prose, this is a beautiful story of parental love and the adventure of childhood.

Final verdict: HUSH, LITTLE BUNNY is a perfect book for toddlers to enjoy with their parents. This gorgeous story with lovely images will appeal to a wide range of ages and is sure to be an enduring classic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account