A Wolf Called Wander

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1441 0
A Wolf Called Wander
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 07, 2019
ISBN
978-1783447909
Buy This Book
      
“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.”—Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal winning author of The One and Only Ivan

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. Illustrated throughout, this irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable one thousand miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites readers to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling.
Includes black-and-white illustrations throughout and a map as well as information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A search for home
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Roseanne Parry’s book, A Wolf Called Wander is based on a real story about a wolf who became separated from his pack and spent the next months searching for a home. Wander grew up with a wolf pack of brothers, sisters, Mom, Dad and Growl, the Pup Watcher. His parents and Growl had taught the pups long before they were ready to leave their home. They learned to recognize scents that would help them prepare for life in the big world. One day, a cruel angry neighboring pack of gray wolves invaded Wander’s home scattering the family in every direction. Wander saw his parents and Growl killed. He turned and did what his father had taught him… he ran.

The author has done a beautiful job creating a tale that will captivate the young reader who is comfortable reading a book on their own, however the older child or adult may find it a slower read. I like the way the author immediately captivates the attention of the young reader and helps them see through the eyes of Wander.

The story then follows Wander in his search for his brother, Warm and for a place to call home. The adventures are all learning experiences for Wander and will bring delight to the reader.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine...
Kneel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression...
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death,...
Heartbreakers and Fakers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes...

Latest Member Reviews

Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
"CHICKS ROCK! is a fun picture book about friendship, reaching for your dreams, and embracing your strengths. Rocker Chick loves..."
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."
Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Goodnight, Little Bunny
 
4.5
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE BUNNY is an interesting picture book read about a bunny's first trip out of the burrow. Bunny is..."
Flying Over Water
 
5.0
"When Jordyn's mother offers to help Noura Alwan's family settle in Tampa, Florida, Jordyn hopes that it will improve her..."
Rukhsanna Guidroz
 
5.0
"In 2012, Samira and her family are members of the Rohingya people. Because of the oppressive government in Myanmar (or..."
Not Now, Cow
 
5.0
"NOT NOW, COW is a charming and funny picture book about seasonal clothes. The animals are getting ready for each..."
Cucu! en el Mar/Peekaboo! in the Ocean
 
4.5
"CUCU! EN EL MAR/ PEEKABOO! IN THE OCEAN is an adorable bilingual lift-the-flap board book. Each page features an animal..."
Family Reunion
 
4.0
"FAMILY REUNION is a colorful picture book that captures all the joy of seeing family, even when you think you..."
The Dog Who Saved the World
 
5.0
"Georgie and her friend Ramzy enjoy hanging out in their seaside English town, romping with Georgie's rescue dog, Mr. Mash,..."
Mission Multiverse
 
4.0
"In the near future, Dev's family has moved from California to Conroy, Ohio because of the problems being caused on..."
The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
"THE NEIGHBORHOOD SURPRISE is a sweet picture book about community coming together. Mrs. Fig is one of the favorite neighbors..."
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
"JET THE CAT (IS NOT A CAT) is a charming picture book about a cat who does not quite fit..."
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
"Lily has decided she really needs to leave her private school after an embarrassing incident with mean girl Courtenay, so..."
The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel
 
4.0
"Mars Patel idolizes Oliver Pruitt, a powerful tech giant who also runs Pruitt Prep. Mars and his friends Toothpick, JP,..."
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
"LLAMA LLAMA MEETS THE BABYSITTER is an overall fun new installment in the Llama Llama series. Following the usual format..."