Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
222 0
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
December 26, 2018
ISBN
978-1338307573
Buy This Book
      
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told by Emmet himself! Includes one page of stickers!

A storybook with stickers based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM)! Things have gotten different since the events of Taco Tuesday . . . DUPLO Aliens have destroyed Bricksburg, and now it is called Apocalypseburg. But everything is STILL awesome! There is a new bad guy in town, and Emmet is ready to kick some butt. It’s time for this Master Builder to GET TOUGH! Based on the movie starring Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett, Alison Brie, and more, this storybook is sure to delight fans of all ages.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

works best as a companion to the movie
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, Emmet is telling the story of what is happening in Bricksburg (now Apocalypseburg). After he saved the world from Taco Tuesday (first movie plot), they thought everything would be awesome forever. However, they got invaded by DUPLOs which destroyed everything in sight, and thus, they are now known as Apocalypseburg. Emmet wants everything to be awesome and for Lucy to be happy, so he builds a dream house.

However, soon, they are confronted by a new invader who attacks and searches for leaders. However, they know quickly that Emmet is not a leader, and Lucy tries to defend him, but also admits he is not tough enough. After the aliens take away Emmet’s friends, the book ends with Emmet deciding to get tough.

What I loved: This book, like THE LEGO MOVIE (1 and 2), has tidbits for both children and adults, with jokes we can all appreciate. The characters also stay true to themselves, with some of the Batman and Emmet fun we all loved from the movie. The plot follows the movie with images selected from the big screen, making it great for children who saw and loved it! The image layout has a somewhat comic book and apocalyptic feel with overlapping boxes and darker colors that suit the plotline well. The stickers are also a nice touch, featuring the main characters, which can be used for artwork or fun outside of the book.

What left me wanting more: If you consider the book outside of the context of the movie, there are some minor concerns. While it is true to the characters involved and the movie, the relationship drawn between being a leader and toughness seems a little simplified- Emmet is already pretty tough by staying optimistic and thriving in hard times, and leaders can have many qualities. The book also features a lot of attacking, which is true to the movie but may be appropriate for older audiences (elementary vs. preschool). The ending is also open, and the story in the book not completely finished. This makes it less complete to stand on its own but does allow children to make up their own ending if they have not seen the movie. As a result, this may be more appropriate as a companion to the movie for people who have already seen and loved it.

Final verdict: This book is great for elementary/older kids’ books audiences who already fans of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, the charming characters, and more complex storylines. Parents can enjoy the jokes and fun alongside their children when reading this picture book. Great for fans of the movie, this book stays true to the plot as well as characters and their personalities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and...
Skipping Forward
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
What if you could skip forward in time, but...
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson delivers the...
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A heartbroken teen, with the help of her best...
Golden Chains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Never fall in love with the enemy. If only...
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic and magical creatures. Immortal gods and goddesses. History...
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Pepper, swim team captain, chronic overachiever, and all-around...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham's life used to be filled with carnival...
The Lost Legends
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All her life, Princess Adalina heard tales of the legendary,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a series of interwoven fictionalized stories, Deborah Noyes gives...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this thrilling...
Birthday
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this...
A Betrayal Exposed (Not Every Girl Book 3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia Davenport’s life is finally going smoothly, until if falls...
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Influencers. Movie nerds. Beauty queens. And one pink convertible. Have...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. ...
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Will Tavares is the dream summer fling―he's fun, affectionate, kind―but...

Latest Member Reviews

Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."
 
3.0
"WE ARE ALL HIS CREATURES by Deborah Noyes is a series of eleven short stories about the beloved showman, P.T...."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Finding Mr. Better-Than-You
 
4.3
"FINDING MR. BETTER-THAN-YOU starts off like a cheesy romantic comedy, but ends up being a lot more fulfilling light-hearted YA..."
Freaky in Fresno
 
3.7
"FREAKY IN FRESNO is a spin on the old novel, FREAKY FRIDAY. Ricki (nickname for Lyric) had a falling out..."
Only Mostly Devastated
 
4.3
"ONLY MOSTLY DEVASTATED is a charming YA contemporary romance that follows Ollie. Ollie had lived in California, until this year..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Ink in the Blood (Ink in the Blood Duology #1)
 
4.3
"INK IN THE BLOOD is an engaging and atmospheric YA fantasy. Celia Sand was delighted when she was chosen to..."
What I Want You to See
 
4.0
"WHAT I WANT YOU TO SEE is an interesting book that discusses homelessness, choices and their intersection with privilege, as..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
 
4.0
"The insatiable oasis will hunt down the thieves of this book and tear them apart, limb by limb, devouring their..."
All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)
 
5.0
"ALL THE STARS AND TEETH is an imaginative and lush YA fantasy that transports the reader to a fascinating new..."
Wardens of Eternity
 
3.0
"WARDENS OF ETERNITY follows Ziva, a young woman who was abandoned as a toddler, became a ward of the state,..."
The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
 
4.3
"THE HAND ON THE WALL is a thrilling conclusion to the TRULY DEVIOUS series. Here, the students are at Ellingham,..."
His Hideous Heart
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: I read various poems and short stories written by Edgar Allen Poe as early..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.0
"THE VANISHING STAIR continues the TRULY DEVIOUS plot as Stevie returns to the enigmatic private school, Ellingham. Stevie becomes more..."
Truly Devious
 
3.3
"TRULY DEVIOUS is a YA mystery that takes place at an enigmatic high school. Ellingham was founded by a very..."
Shadowscent
 
3.7
"Rakel wants nothing more than to get a well-paying job since she's so skilled with scents. Her father his what's..."