Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
473 0
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
December 26, 2018
ISBN
978-1338307573
Buy This Book
      
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told by Emmet himself! Includes one page of stickers!

A storybook with stickers based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM)! Things have gotten different since the events of Taco Tuesday . . . DUPLO Aliens have destroyed Bricksburg, and now it is called Apocalypseburg. But everything is STILL awesome! There is a new bad guy in town, and Emmet is ready to kick some butt. It’s time for this Master Builder to GET TOUGH! Based on the movie starring Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett, Alison Brie, and more, this storybook is sure to delight fans of all ages.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

works best as a companion to the movie
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, Emmet is telling the story of what is happening in Bricksburg (now Apocalypseburg). After he saved the world from Taco Tuesday (first movie plot), they thought everything would be awesome forever. However, they got invaded by DUPLOs which destroyed everything in sight, and thus, they are now known as Apocalypseburg. Emmet wants everything to be awesome and for Lucy to be happy, so he builds a dream house.

However, soon, they are confronted by a new invader who attacks and searches for leaders. However, they know quickly that Emmet is not a leader, and Lucy tries to defend him, but also admits he is not tough enough. After the aliens take away Emmet’s friends, the book ends with Emmet deciding to get tough.

What I loved: This book, like THE LEGO MOVIE (1 and 2), has tidbits for both children and adults, with jokes we can all appreciate. The characters also stay true to themselves, with some of the Batman and Emmet fun we all loved from the movie. The plot follows the movie with images selected from the big screen, making it great for children who saw and loved it! The image layout has a somewhat comic book and apocalyptic feel with overlapping boxes and darker colors that suit the plotline well. The stickers are also a nice touch, featuring the main characters, which can be used for artwork or fun outside of the book.

What left me wanting more: If you consider the book outside of the context of the movie, there are some minor concerns. While it is true to the characters involved and the movie, the relationship drawn between being a leader and toughness seems a little simplified- Emmet is already pretty tough by staying optimistic and thriving in hard times, and leaders can have many qualities. The book also features a lot of attacking, which is true to the movie but may be appropriate for older audiences (elementary vs. preschool). The ending is also open, and the story in the book not completely finished. This makes it less complete to stand on its own but does allow children to make up their own ending if they have not seen the movie. As a result, this may be more appropriate as a companion to the movie for people who have already seen and loved it.

Final verdict: This book is great for elementary/older kids’ books audiences who already fans of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, the charming characters, and more complex storylines. Parents can enjoy the jokes and fun alongside their children when reading this picture book. Great for fans of the movie, this book stays true to the plot as well as characters and their personalities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...

Latest Member Reviews

Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING is an engaging YA contemporary about romance, family, and coming of age. Evie stopped believing in love..."
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."
A Season of Sinister Dreams
 
4.3
"A SEASON OF SINISTER DREAMS is an engaging YA fantasy that follows two young women, Evra and Annalise. Annalise lives..."
I Can See Clearly
 
3.3
"Luc Ponti comes from a strong Italian family, and his father (an NCAA point guard, Princeton grad, Special Forces and..."
Fire with Fire
 
4.7
"Dani Rivera may excel at every part of her dragon slaying training, but she would rather focus on being normal..."
Better Together
 
5.0
"BETTER TOGETHER is a delightful and charming YA contemporary read about sisterhood, family, and healing. Siri lives with her mother..."
Get a Clue: A Bookish Boyfriends #4
 
4.3
"In this fourth book set at Reginald R. Hero High, we meet Huck and Win, the brother of Curtis from..."
The Fault In Our Stars
 
5.0
"I had enjoyed this book to great extent. I loved the relationship connection between the two characters and how the..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."