Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
328 0
Emmet Gets Tough (The LEGO Movie 2: Storybook with Stickers)
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
December 26, 2018
ISBN
978-1338307573
Buy This Book
      
A storybook based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM), as told by Emmet himself! Includes one page of stickers!

A storybook with stickers based on The LEGO(R) MOVIE 2(TM)! Things have gotten different since the events of Taco Tuesday . . . DUPLO Aliens have destroyed Bricksburg, and now it is called Apocalypseburg. But everything is STILL awesome! There is a new bad guy in town, and Emmet is ready to kick some butt. It’s time for this Master Builder to GET TOUGH! Based on the movie starring Chris Pratt, Elizabeth Banks, Will Arnett, Alison Brie, and more, this storybook is sure to delight fans of all ages.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

works best as a companion to the movie
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
EMMET GETS TOUGH is a picture book that is a companion to the movie featured. In the vein of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, Emmet is telling the story of what is happening in Bricksburg (now Apocalypseburg). After he saved the world from Taco Tuesday (first movie plot), they thought everything would be awesome forever. However, they got invaded by DUPLOs which destroyed everything in sight, and thus, they are now known as Apocalypseburg. Emmet wants everything to be awesome and for Lucy to be happy, so he builds a dream house.

However, soon, they are confronted by a new invader who attacks and searches for leaders. However, they know quickly that Emmet is not a leader, and Lucy tries to defend him, but also admits he is not tough enough. After the aliens take away Emmet’s friends, the book ends with Emmet deciding to get tough.

What I loved: This book, like THE LEGO MOVIE (1 and 2), has tidbits for both children and adults, with jokes we can all appreciate. The characters also stay true to themselves, with some of the Batman and Emmet fun we all loved from the movie. The plot follows the movie with images selected from the big screen, making it great for children who saw and loved it! The image layout has a somewhat comic book and apocalyptic feel with overlapping boxes and darker colors that suit the plotline well. The stickers are also a nice touch, featuring the main characters, which can be used for artwork or fun outside of the book.

What left me wanting more: If you consider the book outside of the context of the movie, there are some minor concerns. While it is true to the characters involved and the movie, the relationship drawn between being a leader and toughness seems a little simplified- Emmet is already pretty tough by staying optimistic and thriving in hard times, and leaders can have many qualities. The book also features a lot of attacking, which is true to the movie but may be appropriate for older audiences (elementary vs. preschool). The ending is also open, and the story in the book not completely finished. This makes it less complete to stand on its own but does allow children to make up their own ending if they have not seen the movie. As a result, this may be more appropriate as a companion to the movie for people who have already seen and loved it.

Final verdict: This book is great for elementary/older kids’ books audiences who already fans of THE LEGO MOVIE 2, the charming characters, and more complex storylines. Parents can enjoy the jokes and fun alongside their children when reading this picture book. Great for fans of the movie, this book stays true to the plot as well as characters and their personalities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."