It's Not Easy Being Bad

 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
1860 0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0689851154
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
The Clique:It's Not Easy Being Mean by Lisi Harrison
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Megan

As the years march on, one constant changes in such a fractionally small way as to be imperceptible from one decade to the next: junior high drama. No matter where you are in the country (perhaps the world), the years between ages 12 and 15 are mentally draining for both teenagers and their parents.

The Clique series by Lisi Harrison has always done a fine job of painting the reality of the daily situations encountered by wealthy 12-year-old Massie Block and her group of friends, better known as the Pretty Committee. Harrison's most recent book in the series, IT'S NOT EASY BEING MEAN, keeps up the breakneck gossip-driven pace of Massie and her friends --- Alicia Rivera, Kristen Gregory, Dylan Marvil and the slightly out-of-place Claire Lyons, the newest addition to the Pretty Committee.

As the Pretty Committee prepares for their exit from seventh grade at upscale private school Octavian Country Day (OCD&I'm sure there's hidden meaning there), they encounter the opportunity of a teenage girl's lifetime --- the chance to gain access to "paradise." In this case, paradise is a mythical secret room that only a select group of eighth graders is allowed to know about, let alone enter. Finding the key and gaining entrance to the room pose a series of humorous and well-crafted problems for the spoiled young girls.

While some readers, both young and old, may find the characters in IT'S NOT EASY BEING MEAN artificial and impossibly too mature for their age, it's entirely plausible to imagine their vocal styling and fashion sense to be appropriate for daughters of families whose income puts them firmly in the upper extremes of the economic bell curve. Do seventh grade girls really wear Prada and Gucci while texting on Razr phones and saying things like "ah-dorable" and "ah-mazing"? The answer is a resounding "Ohmygawd, Duh!"

IT'S NOT EASY BEING MEAN will never hold the interest of boys or even girls who have left the hallowed halls of junior high behind on their quest for the even more delicate and debilitating cliques they will experience in high school. But for girls preparing to leave the world of elementary school or currently experiencing the daily chaos of hormones gone awry (aka junior high), the Clique series offers good, safe fun.

Careful thought during the reading should reveal the messages that lie beneath the obvious tales presented in these books, for indeed there is much to be learned about how to lead an exciting life in junior high while avoiding the pitfalls of trying to fit in everywhere with everyone on a daily basis.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
?Popularity?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Val

Popularity is a really funny thing. Many of us when we are young don't belong to cliques. We find we can sit with another person just ebcause we are in the same math class as them. Its when we reach seventh grade or middle school that the cliques become definite or start to harden. Mikey and Margalo experience this like many other middle schoolers in this novel. Mikey is a petite, tough, stubborn and intimidating person. She makes those around her feel uncomfortable... that is everyone except her friend Margalo. Margalo is a tall thin "piece of clay". While she is unpopular because she hangs out with Mikey she is able to mold herself to fit in with the popular kids because she has them analyzed. She figures that popularity is all about mixing the right bit of flattery and calamity with self confidence. This novel goes through the struggles that Mikeya and Margalo face knowing that cliques are being formed and that there isn't much they can do about it. Throughout the book the reader watches Mikey and Margalo grow from these challenges. Obstacles like when Mikey's popularity halloween dinner turns into a no show party,when Mikey's petition to have seventh graders be allowed to play in eight grade sports is turned down by the principle or when Margaolo is made fun of for wearing a sweater that one of the popular kid's moms donated to a thrift shop. This book although written for a younger audience of middle schoolers provided a douse of reality when I read it. Alot of the concepts and the whole idea of maturing and defining friends is abused constantly in books. But its rare to find an author that portrays populairty and its prizes and prices so well as cynthia voigt. The message this books brings is that although we grow older and unforunately are placed into groups we can always try to change the rules and stir things up because whats life without change?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."