Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
481 0
Unicorns Are Real! (Mythical Creatures Are Real!)
Author(s)
Age Range
2+
Release Date
March 26, 2019
ISBN
978-0525648734
Buy This Book
      
Stardust and glitter and rainbows, oh my! Did you know that unicorns polish their horns with fairy dust and moonbeams, and that they love looking at their reflections? Unicorn lovers will be tickled to learn all sorts of "facts" about these beloved mythical creatures in Holly Hatam's (#1 New York Times bestselling illustrator) unique Mythical Creatures Are Real board book.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

funny and cute story about unicorns
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
UNICORNS ARE REAL! is a bright, colorful, and cute book about unicorns. The images really leap off the page with vivid colors and cute unicorns acting out the phrases on each page. Unicorns are very vain and consumed with their appearance, although they also like fairytales, identifying young children who they are thrilled to learn are real.

What I loved: The illustrations are top-notch with lots of bright colors and cute unicorns. The full page designs are fun to look at and search through to examine the many unicorns pictured. Some of the phrases are really funny and clever (such as that about unicorns believing in fairytales with the unicorns peeking out at the human girls through the forest and remarking about them being real). The vivid images will really appeal to the youngest readers. The word-to-image ratio is also great, and the pages can turn quickly.

What left me wanting more: Many phrases are about unicorns’ appearances, such as what they wear to how they polish their horns. I would have liked more substance, such as what more intellectual pursuits they enjoy (e.g. do they like to read fairytales? Or do they like to learn about something?). Additionally, they like to eat sugary foods, and it would have been nice to have some sweet fruits as a good example for toddlers/young children versus the demonstrated cakes and cookies. There are also two pages about their bodily excretions (they poop cotton candy and their tears are delicious), which suggest such excretions are or should be edible, and I personally would rather that these were left out so that a toddler may not get ideas about this. These are relatively minor concerns, overall, however.

Final thoughts: This board book features vivid and bright illustrations of adorable unicorns along with “facts” about how they live. The images were great and most of the facts were really cute and fun. Toddlers will enjoy learning about these amusing animals and flipping through the entertaining illustrations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
ExtraNormal Academy (ExtraNormal Academy, #1)
 
4.0
"A different take on Academy books with the main character as an alien from another planet, sent to observe humans...."
 
5.0
"I strongly recommend this novel. It has the perfect combination of action, plot twists, and cool characters that kept my..."
 
5.0
"I had no idea about how serious the fallout for teens who sext can be until I read this book...."
 
5.0
"I loved this book so much I didn’t want it to end! I totally related to the characters and the..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."