Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
379 0
Roary the Lion Roars Too Loud (Wee Beasties)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
May 29, 2018
ISBN
978-1534410787
Buy This Book
      
Help little ones learn how to use their inside voices with this second story in the brand-new Wee Beasties series from New York Times bestselling author Ame Dyckman.

Roary the Lion loves to roar. The only problem is, he roars WAY too loud.

WAIT! Can you show Roary how to be quiet?

Wee Beasties is a new board book series from New York Times bestselling author, Ame Dyckman, featuring silly animals doing the things they love just a little TOO much. In this second book in the series about Roary the Lion and his big outside roar, little ones will learn how to use their quiet inside voices.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

delightful lessons about vocal volume
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
This delightful board book teaches children about vocal volume in an entertaining and easy way. Roary loves to use his outside roar to communicate with Mommy and Daddy. However, he cannot use the same voice to communicate with the baby. Toddlers must teach Roary how to use a quiet inside voice to say good night to the baby, and in turn, learn about vocal volume themselves.

What I loved: Toddlers will giggle as Roary surprises his parents with his loud, outside roar, and then enjoy teaching Roary how to use a quiet, inside voice to speak to the baby. This book is highly interactive, asking the toddler to show Roary how to use a quiet voice, and full of fun as, oops, Roary roars too loud. The word-to-picture ratio is just perfect, and the pages turn quickly at a pace appropriate for the toddler audience. The pictures suit the text perfectly, and the multi-panel pages are loads of fun with many images to follow along with Roary’s story.

What left me wanting more: As in many children’s books, the parents are portrayed in typical gender roles (Daddy is reading a newspaper while Mommy is preparing/bringing lemonade to Roary). I would love to see more books where these roles are reversed or both parents can be, in this case, serving food or relaxing.

Final verdict: This highly enjoyable book is loads of fun for toddlers who are learning to control the volume of their voice. With giggles and teachable moments plus great images, this book is fun for younger and older toddlers (1-5 years). Be prepared to read this one over and over again with your young one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."