Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
779 0
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1419731693
Buy This Book
      
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen is a little girl with a BIG personality. She loves the spotlight and fame that comes with being an actress, and she only grudgingly shares attention with her adoring little brother, Eduardo - especially when the prize is a starring role in a commercial.
Carmen and her family speak a mix of English and Spanish, inspired the author’s loving exchanges with her father as a little girl.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lights, Camera, Carmen!
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big.

Though she dreams of being on stage, a Dino-Krispies cereal contest thrusts her into a new dream, she’s going to be on tv. With a personal cinnamon-tographer, whose really her baby brother, Eduardo—and a bigger than life vision, they set out to make the best commercial ever.

The book touts humor as one of its shining traits, but the father is the funniest part of the story—and his moments are brief. Children, however, may enjoy the moments between Carmen and Eduardo as they attempt to make a standout commercial--and the mishaps that occur as a result.

The pages are vibrant and engaging, the caricatures were moving and easy to follow—yet the font is awfully tiny. There’s no rhyme or repetition but it’s easy to read.

The story is fun and a quick read. Children will enjoy the book for the many mistakes and the boisterous attempt at fame.

Adults will appreciate the lesson learned by its end. Rich in culture and true to real life, Lights, Camera, Carmen!, is a great addition to any little readers shelf.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times #1 Bestseller! ...
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all...
Riverland
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When things go bad at home, sisters Eleanor and Mike...
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A perfect, device-free remedy to what to do when the...
Animazes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Follow fascinating journeys of animal migration in this beautiful book...
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the New York Times bestseller Hugs...
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Big, brainy science for the littlest listeners. ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is...
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The #1 bestselling Laugh-Out-Loud Jokes for Kids series is bringing...
Little Tigers
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey with a family of tigers as they search for...
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Unlock ancient puzzles and secrets introduced via supercool codes and...
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunningly gorgeous counting book with a delightful surprise ...
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first picture book about the inspiring life of humanitarian...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Loki: Where Mischief Lies
 
3.0
"LOKI: WHERE MISCHIEF LIES tells a new story of teen Loki, before all the big battles and intergalactic feuds with..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"posso usare l'italiano or english"
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
4.7
"In all seriousness, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda is the best. I have nothing to compare it to. It is unique,..."
Tweet Cute
 
4.3
"TWEET CUTE is a fun enemies-to-dating and anonymous-You've-Got-Mail style YA contemporary romance. The book follows the two protagonists in equal..."
Throw Like a Girl
 
4.3
"THROW LIKE A GIRL is a charming story about chasing your dreams, a little romance, and a passion for sports...."
The Boy Next Story
 
4.0
"'The Boy Next Story' by Tiffany Schmidt follows main character Aurora, who goes by Rory, as she tries to figure..."
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
And I Darken
 
3.3
"To be honest, I went into this expecting vampires. I guess between the visual tone to the..."
Endling: The First
 
5.0
"Applegate delivers an action-packed middle-grade sequel in a uniquely otherworldly setting, with characters that are relatable, cute and fuzzy, along..."