Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
889 0
Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1419731693
Buy This Book
      
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen is a little girl with a BIG personality. She loves the spotlight and fame that comes with being an actress, and she only grudgingly shares attention with her adoring little brother, Eduardo - especially when the prize is a starring role in a commercial.
Carmen and her family speak a mix of English and Spanish, inspired the author’s loving exchanges with her father as a little girl.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Lights, Camera, Carmen!
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big.

Though she dreams of being on stage, a Dino-Krispies cereal contest thrusts her into a new dream, she’s going to be on tv. With a personal cinnamon-tographer, whose really her baby brother, Eduardo—and a bigger than life vision, they set out to make the best commercial ever.

The book touts humor as one of its shining traits, but the father is the funniest part of the story—and his moments are brief. Children, however, may enjoy the moments between Carmen and Eduardo as they attempt to make a standout commercial--and the mishaps that occur as a result.

The pages are vibrant and engaging, the caricatures were moving and easy to follow—yet the font is awfully tiny. There’s no rhyme or repetition but it’s easy to read.

The story is fun and a quick read. Children will enjoy the book for the many mistakes and the boisterous attempt at fame.

Adults will appreciate the lesson learned by its end. Rich in culture and true to real life, Lights, Camera, Carmen!, is a great addition to any little readers shelf.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

American Betiya
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous story of a young artist grappling with first...
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Babba Zarrah lives in a tiny village in the snow-covered...
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's bedtime, and across the land everyone is settling down...
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance, and...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...

Latest Member Reviews

American Betiya
 
5.0
"AMERICAN BETIYA is a breathtaking contemporary read about identity, family, and racism. Rani is an Indian American with dreams of..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
" The Story: Willow is a figure skater who has been sidelined from her team by an injury...."
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
"RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology. In this sequel, we begin with Cayo, Amaya,..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"One day, Thirteen-year-old Anamaria has an encounter from Thirty, a strange woman who insists she's from the future...."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."