Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)

Lights, Camera, Carmen! (Carmen #2)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1419731693
Buy This Book
      
In the vein of Eloise, Olivia, and Fancy Nancy, Carmen is a little girl with a BIG personality. She loves the spotlight and fame that comes with being an actress, and she only grudgingly shares attention with her adoring little brother, Eduardo - especially when the prize is a starring role in a commercial.
Carmen and her family speak a mix of English and Spanish, inspired the author’s loving exchanges with her father as a little girl.

Editor review

1 review
Lights, Camera, Carmen!
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Lights Camera Carmen is a quick-to-read tale of a zealous and outspoken kid destined to make it big.

Though she dreams of being on stage, a Dino-Krispies cereal contest thrusts her into a new dream, she’s going to be on tv. With a personal cinnamon-tographer, whose really her baby brother, Eduardo—and a bigger than life vision, they set out to make the best commercial ever.

The book touts humor as one of its shining traits, but the father is the funniest part of the story—and his moments are brief. Children, however, may enjoy the moments between Carmen and Eduardo as they attempt to make a standout commercial--and the mishaps that occur as a result.

The pages are vibrant and engaging, the caricatures were moving and easy to follow—yet the font is awfully tiny. There’s no rhyme or repetition but it’s easy to read.

The story is fun and a quick read. Children will enjoy the book for the many mistakes and the boisterous attempt at fame.

Adults will appreciate the lesson learned by its end. Rich in culture and true to real life, Lights, Camera, Carmen!, is a great addition to any little readers shelf.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account