Louisiana's Way Home

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
570 0
Louisiana'sWayHome.jpg
Age Range
11+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
0763694630
Buy This Book
      
When Louisiana Elefante’s granny wakes her up in the middle of the night to tell her that the day of reckoning has arrived and they have to leave home immediately, Louisiana isn’t overly worried. After all, Granny has many middle-of-the-night ideas. But this time, things are different. This time, Granny intends for them never to return. Separated from her best friends, Raymie and Beverly, Louisiana struggles to oppose the winds of fate (and Granny) and find a way home. But as Louisiana’s life becomes entwined with the lives of the people of a small Georgia town — including a surly motel owner, a walrus-like minister, and a mysterious boy with a crow on his shoulder — she starts to worry that she is destined only for good-byes. (Which could be due to the curse on Louisiana's and Granny’s heads. But that is a story for another time.)

Called “one of DiCamillo’s most singular and arresting creations” by The New York Times Book Review, the heartbreakingly irresistible Louisiana Elefante was introduced to readers in Raymie Nightingale — and now, with humor and tenderness, Kate DiCamillo returns to tell her story.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

What Matters Most is Who Picks Us Up
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

I want to hug this book and never let go.

Louisiana Elefante is cursed. She is hopeful yet skeptical, naive yet wise beyond her years. She is a like all of us, a complex character. While some may have first met Louisiana in Raymie Nightingale, do not worry if you have not read the book, it will detract from this story in the slightest.

Louisiana’s curse is one of “sundering” passed down through her family. The all of a sudden her grandmother wakes her up in the middle of the night and drags her to the car. Louisiana realizes Granny plans to leave Florida behind for good when the cross into Georgia it's there that Louisiana's life begins to falls apart

What I liked the most: Kate DiCamillo is one of the best storytellers of our day; she is a true wordsmith. Her stories capture the reality children and adults face. The world she creates includes hurt and pain but also love and beauty. I know I always have tissues waiting near by whenever I pick up one of her books.

Louisiana’s Way Home is told through Louisiana’s point of view, which brings so much realism to the story. You hear her life lessons and follow her on her journey. True reflections of the world we live in some moments are humorous, bittersweet, heartwarming, and hopeful. While reading, the reader will begin to question: What is family? What makes something right versus wrong? How can the choices we make impact our lives and the lives of others? Louisiana must find the answers to these questions, and go through hardships and challenges to learn about love and forgiveness.



Beautifully written and full of all the feels. Kate DiCamillo has to be one of my all time favorite authors not only in the classroom but outside of it as well. Her work is full of captivating prose with life lessons and messages that raise children up. Never does DiCamillo talk down to her reader.

This is a beautiful book, and I highly recommend it to readers young and old. I’m sure will find its way to children’s reading lists and classrooms libraries
Good Points
Captivating
Beautifully written
Couldn't put it down
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."