G.I. Dogs: Sergeant Stubby, Hero Pup of World War I (G.I. Dogs #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1113 0
G.I. Dogs: Sergeant Stubby, Hero Pup of World War I (G.I. Dogs #2)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 11, 2018
ISBN
978-1338185256
Buy This Book
      
Meet Stubby: a stray pup who was taken in by a group of American soldiers-in-training and soon found himself whisked off to the frontlines of World War I as the official mascot of the 102nd Infantry Regiment! Stubby served bravely by his soldiers' sides for 18 months and became a hero when he saved his regiment from a surprise gas attack, and again when he singlehandedly caught an enemy German soldier in No Man's Land.

Join Stubby on his incredible journey from puppy to soldier to high-ranking sergeant as he narrates his story of heroism. This "dog's-eye view" takes readers into the heart of the action of WWI and will leave you cheering for Stubby and his human companions as they overcome countless obstacles and prove time and again why a dog really is man's best friend.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Dogs as protection and comfort
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Stubby was adopted from the streets of Boston by Bob Conroy, who managed to sneak him on the ship his unit took to Europe. Once they arrived, the commanding officer allowed the dog to be the mascot of the group as long as he didn't interfere. Stubby proved his worth by alerting men to poison gas, killing rats, and generally improving morale. As Conroy's unit was involved in a broad cross section of WWI activity, and we see the battles and movement through Stubby's eyes. The dog is even injured and in hospital for six weeks at one point, and even loses a friend on the battle field. He and Bob are still in Europe for the Armistice, and once they return to the US go on tour. Stubby was quite the celebrity, meeting General Pershing, the president, and traveling extensively in his retirement.
Good Points
There were a lot of details about how the military units were set up, how soldiers lived their daily lives, and what happened on the battle field, in the trenches, and in the hospital. Covering the Armistice was particularly brilliant, and the information about Stubby's further career is helpful. Stubby's eventual demise (from old age) is circumspectly covered so as not to upset young readers.

The inclusion of pictures brought Stubby to life in a vivid way. It's amazing how worn and grainy these pictures are after only 100 years, but even that brings home the fact that WWI was some time ago!

No matter how well written books from a dog's point of view are, there are always some awkward moments when I doubted that Stubby had a good working knowledge of politics, but certainly his views of daily life in the trenches, especially saving soldiers from impending gas attacks, were vivid and easy to understand.

While there are a couple of other books about Stubby, this one is just the right length and level of detail for somewhat younger readers who are very interested in World War I. There are not nearly as many stories about that war as there are about WWII, so I'm definitely glad to buy this one as well as Judy: Prisoner of War. Hand this to readers who love Tarshis' I Survived books or London's Dogs of War.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gentle metaphor for understanding and processing anxiety and sadness....
The Brass Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She knows a liar when she sees one. ...
The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...
Wylder and the Almost Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget the boy...
Wylder and the Secret Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget your summer...
Nubia: Real One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you be a hero...if society doesn't see you as...
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angsty teenager Mary Shelley is not interested in carrying on...
Cursed: The Girl Who Shook the Earth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I’m just another girl who survived foster care. Nothing special....
The Obsession
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A classic sort of love story...except somebody might wind up...
The Project
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After...
Fate Calling
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A magical...
Kingdom of Ink and Paper (The Betwixt and Between Chronicles Book 1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every book you’ve ever read. Every story you’ve ever ...
The First Holidays
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lila Weston is a pro at keeping secrets, but this...
Key to Forever
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an isolated mountain town, Meg and her brother Thompson...
Max and the Spice Thieves
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When his mother goes missing, Max Daybreaker’s world is turned...
On the Way to Birdland
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Self-proclaimed teenage philosopher Cordell Wheaton lives in a sleepy, southern...

Latest Member Reviews

American Royals II: Majesty
 
3.7
"With her father gone, Beatrice must step into her role as queen. To do this, she has to let her..."
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
The Cerulean
 
3.3
"THE CERULEAN is an intriguing start to a YA fantasy duology. The book begins with Sera, a Cerulean who has..."
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
"TALES FROM THE HINTERLAND is an enchanting, haunting, and deliciously creepy collection of fairytales. Completely new and unlike anything I..."
You Owe Me a Murder
 
3.0
" *Connor is Deaf and has implants *Alex has light brown skin..."
Across the Green Grass Fields
 
4.7
"I love the Wayward Children series, and the latest installment, ACROSS THE GREEN GRASS FIELDS, is no exception. Here are..."
DEV1AT3
 
4.7
"Feedback What a difference between book 1 and book 2. I enjoyed this one so much more, and I..."
The Broken Raven (Shadow Skye, #2)
 
4.0
"THE BROKEN RAVEN is an intriguing YA fantasy that sweeps the reader away to a land of magic, plotting, and..."
You Have a Match
 
5.0
"YOU HAVE A MATCH is a beautifully written YA contemporary about family, summer, forgiveness, and best friend crushes. Abby is..."