City of Islands

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
375 0
City of Islands
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 24, 2018
ISBN
9780062499813
Buy This Book
      
A dark and riveting middle grade fantasy from the critically acclaimed Kali Wallace about an archipelago of magical islands and one girl’s dangerous discovery on the ocean floor. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kate Milford.

In a foggy archipelago called the City of Islands, twelve-year-old Mara has always been fascinated by the magic that drifts on the air as songs. But as a servant for the powerful Lady of the Tides, Mara must earn her keep by searching for magical treasures deep in the murky ocean.

Then Mara finds the skeletons of strange hybrid creatures that haven’t existed in the city for centuries—all humming with a powerful spell-song. Convinced her discovery will earn her the opportunity to study magic, Mara shares them with the Lady. But instead of a reward, the Lady gives Mara a new challenge: to sneak into the island fortress, the Winter Blade.

Now Mara must dive deeper than ever before to survive her mission. The chilling truths that Mara uncovers along the way, about her past as well as about the secrets of her beloved city, are more dangerous—and magical—than she ever imagined.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

One of the best middle grade fantasy books ever
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Top 5 Reasons to Grab CITY OF ISLANDS immediately:

1.) The World Building: CITY OF ISLANDS is set exactly as the title suggests: on a city of islands. Each island has its own character and design, and the focus on the ocean as such a central part of live is amazing. I have read many fantastic middle grade fantasies, but I haven't felt as much warmth and magic from a fantasy world since Hogwarts. Wallace deftly creates an environment both beautiful and dark, home-like and entirely different at once. The characters are truly tied into every part of the physical and magical world around them in ways that isn't shown in other fantasy worlds.

2.) The Writing: While I have enjoyed Wallace's previous books before, her writing blew me away in CITY OF ISLANDS. From the lush descriptions of the water to the lyrical prose to the creative magic songs, I wanted to wrap myself up in the words like a blanket.

3.) The Action: From the first chapter, you know exactly what is at stake for Mara. She's mostly alone in the world, she fights daily for survival, and she has dreams of finding and doing more. As plot twist after plot twist happens, your heart will race, and your hands will be frantically turning the pages. There are times when no characters' motives are clear, when some make surprising choices, and with each discovery, the stakes build and build. In the last 100 or so pages, I was so tense following the plot that I nearly bent the book clutching it.

4.) Mara: Mara is everything I wanted in a protagonist: brave, steady, and curious. She is extremely likable, and readers will root for her from page one. She is understandable, and though her circumstances are often heartbreaking, she has a tenacity and perseverance that doesn't let up, not completely.

5.) The Conflicts: There were many times I was never quite sure who was on whose side. Mara is far from naive and understands that the motivations of people around her are often based on their own best interest, which is not always great for herself. Mara struggles to find a spot for the complex and complicated people around her.

Sorely under-the-radar, CITY OF ISLANDS is a nonstop magical adventure overflowing with heart and daring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The new fifth edition of National Geographic's award-winning atlas is...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a piece of cake! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new arc in the bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The tenth book in Ralph Masiello’s popular drawing series shows...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
When they're stuck under one roof, the house may not...
The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.3
"The story: Tyson Trice has not had it easy in life. Months after he is shot and almost dies he’s..."
Refraction
 
4.3
"Marty is a flawed character in any number of ways, not least of which is his propensity to do what's..."
Frankly in Love
 
4.7
"I love this book so much. I read it pretty much in one sitting because I couldn't put it down!..."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Adorkable
 
5.0
"ADORKABLE is a book you can easily predict, but the journey is unbelievably delightful. Sally Spitz is a senior in..."
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
"SIX GOODBYES WE NEVER SAID is quite a heavy YA contemporary. We follow Naima and Dew in alternating sections. Naima..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
" THIS WAS INCREDIBLE. This book reads like BUTTER...… Moldy, rotten, disgusting butter,..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
4.0
"After killing a man in Paris, Celine is forced to flee to a different country and finds herself in New..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
5.0
"Guinevere has one role to play when she arrives in Camelot. She has to protect King Arthur with her life...."
Unstoppable Moses: A Novel
 
3.3
"UNSTOPPABLE MOSES is quite an interesting YA contemporary. With dark humor, grief/healing, and guilt/blame, this book takes on some big..."
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
Patron Saints of Nothing
 
4.3
"After learning that his cousin Jun (his best friend and penpal) has died, Jay Reguero heads back to visit his..."
Now Entering Addamsville
 
3.7
"Zora Novak has been accused of a crime she didn't commit. It doesn't help that her family are known as..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."